more overclocking woes :)

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

more overclocking woes :)

Postby andrey » Thu May 09, 2002 7:49 pm

some of you might remember my previous posts, dealing with the PAGE_FAULT error I found when I tried to push my system above 140 FSB. well, I solved that, simply by lowering all of the timings on the RAM. (cas down to 2, and other timings are a couple twos and a five, etc) anyway, they are lower (and faster) than before, so I managed to push it up to 142.
after that, however, the fun (or problems if you will) begins! after the first failed windows startup, I boosted my voltage an extra .5 volts, and got it up to 143.

once i get to 144, however, I get a STOP error. if you want, I can do it again and grab the details of the error, but that might be enough. its STOP followed by a string of numbers . does this mean that more voltage is needed, or did some other system component reach it's limit?
________
Video review
Last edited by andrey on Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
andrey
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am

Postby Tolemac » Thu May 09, 2002 11:29 pm

Give us your specs again, and we'll take it one step at a time. What do you have the Vcore set at right now?
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

hehe

Postby andrey » Fri May 10, 2002 2:14 pm

alright, here we go. im running a:

XP 1800+
Shuttle AK31 mobo
Ti200 video card
20 gig HD
onboard sound
network card
512 megs of RAM.

let me know if you need any more specs, I might have forgotten something :)

Im gonna go right now and do another overclocking test, and will record all warnings and my settings that I can. will post a new message.
________
hashish
Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andrey
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am

can't duplicate it

Postby andrey » Fri May 10, 2002 2:58 pm

ok, I can't duplicate my STOP error, but I did change the timings around a little guess that fixed it :)

my most stable overclocking speed however is an FSB of 140 (testing it right now anyway, may not be stable at all, lol) at 141 it crashes when I run the burn in test, at 142, it crashes after winXP starts loading but before all of the programs finished loading. is there any way to increase stability here?

my operating idle temps also went up 3 degrees celcius, to 45 degrees.

my DRAM settings:
DRAM clock: host clock
CAS: 2
bank interweave 4bank (I have two 256 meg sticks)
trp: 2T
tras: 5T
Trcd: 2T
queue: 4 level
command rate: 1T

my voltage settings:
default: 1.750
mine: 1.8
DDR voltage: right now at 2.6, can go up to 2.7
auto detect clock speed, DIMM, PCI is on
Spread Spectrum is on
FSB clock is 140.

let me know if you need more/other info, or if you have stablity/speed suggestions.
________
Toyota V engine history
Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andrey
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am

Postby Tolemac » Sat May 11, 2002 1:08 am

Try disabling the Command Rate as sometimes that causes problems. Up your Vcore to 1.825
Turn off Spread Spectrum also. Let me know!
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby andrey » Sun May 12, 2002 6:31 pm

sorry it took so long, was out of town. I can't disable command rate (DRAM settings I presume thats what your talking abut) its only 1T or 2T. I left it at 1T.

I did a sandra burn in test with 10 runs of CPU tests and memory bandwith, didn't crash once, although my temps haven't gone down either :)

thanks for far for the help though, any other tips/tricks you want to share?
________
Kawasaki KZ900B
Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
andrey
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am

Postby andrey » Sun May 12, 2002 7:35 pm

bah, resting temps went up to 47 degrees now :(... no a single crash yet though running at FSB 140. was at 42 degrees at 133.

has anyone actually had their CPU temps reach the 90 degree max limit? lol. (my case temp is at 31 right now)
________
Ford V platform
andrey
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am


Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest