The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 12:40 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Cyrix OC
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2002 5:51 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 6:55 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Ohio
Hey, I wanted to know if i could get some help OCing my Cyrix 8x86MX.

Iv never over clocked and will need some detailed help, if anyone is up to it. Its at 333 now and needs a lil boost. heh. thx


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2002 6:11 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
Never heard of anyone OC'ing a Cryix, but I guess it's possible. Depending on your mobo, you will have to up the Front Side Bus (FSB) to get more out of it. Check your manual to see if you can adjust the FSB by way of jumper on the mobo itself or if you need to go into the BIOS to do it. Find that out and post it back here.

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2002 6:59 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 6:55 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Ohio
Ok. i found my jumper settings, and is CPU core voltage the same as FBS??? My physical manual i was never given when i purchased it new 4 years ago, so im counting on one givin to me in the Mobo id. forum.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 9:17 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
No. CPU core voltage and Front Side Bus are two different things. Only adjust the FSB for now.

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2002 7:50 pm 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Jun 30, 2002 6:55 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Ohio
Where are common places to change FBS? i dont have it in my BIOS, and not on jumpers.. anywhere else?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2002 12:14 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Posts: 14276
Location: L-1 Bridge
If you have thoroughly searched all of the BIOS and there is no adjustment for it and there are no jumper setting to change it, then you cannot. You will need a new mobo to do any overclocking.

_________________
The Gift of Healing
Conscious Energy Meditation


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group