What is your highest overclock?

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
Programmer-PR
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 5:42 pm
Location: Arecibo Puerto Rico

Post by Programmer-PR »

Motherboard-> Soyo Ultra Dragon Platinum
Memory-> Corsair XMS PC 3200
Procesor-> Pentium 4 @ 2.53GHZ
Heatsink->Zalman CNP6500

Right now i have the FSB at 150Mhz,Multiplier 10x and the cpu runs at 43 or 44C no more. system stable and tested with sisoft sandra and pcmark2002. the pc now runs overclocked at 2.85Ghz a gain of 320mhz jejejej i will continue working and keep posted
[b][i]Luck always follow the prepared mind...
Straight from my beautiful island [color=blue]Puerto[/color] [color=red]Rico[/color][/i][/b]
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Tulatin »

You know my hardware, and i have yet another - 400 mhz on a @ ghz Northwood, 55c load, perfectly stable. I can hit 2.5 but it freezes under intense loads, and 2.66, but it freezes just like 2.5. But, if i put core voltage up 10% on 2.5 Ghz, it's mostly stable (games, yes - benchmarks, vieo rendering. no), but it idles at 60c...
KaosKid
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 12:47 pm
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Post by KaosKid »

I've OC'd my 2800+Barton to 422fsb (211x11) which is only a 250Mhz gain, but I think that is because the chip has no more headroom as far as max Ghz goes (2.34 and above is unstable). I can actually take the fsb up a few more notches by lowering the multiplier, but temps go up over 50C ( and this damn "Asus COP" shuts me down at anything over 51C---how do you reset the parameters a little higher, to about 55-60C?). I wouldn't have been able to go this high (at least as quietly) without the Tt Aquarius II Liquid cooling kit.
Rick
[url=http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=19000/]HEATWARE[/url]
greedy
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Aug 25, 2002 4:13 pm
Location: canada

Post by greedy »

hehe, got a new one:

xp 1700+ tbred-b
couldn't get anymore out of it except 2.25ghz pushing the fsb so i tried multiplier:
now 2.4Ghz-1.85v-150fsb-16x-
temps [email protected] [email protected]

greedy like :lol:
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Tulatin »

Tul's new clock records on his aquaris II kit.

2.7 Ghz is stable for benchmarks (+15-20% core voltage, 55-61c load)(when oc'd with videocard 11000 #d MArks YAY!)
2.66 (+15% core voltage, 54-60c load)is a touch more conservative, and a little more stable (occasionally)
2.5 is my fallback oc, and at 10% more core voltage, 50c load, it's good.

All three of these overclokcks can be done on my Abit Bh7 with Northwood 2 Ghz P4.

By The Way - I can hit 2.8 Ghz(+25% core voltage, 55c idle), and even boot into windows with it...
Peanya
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
Posts: 6055
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 7:43 pm

Post by Peanya »

Tulatin, post your best 100% stable stats. I think that's what people are mostly interested in :)
KaosKid, your temps seem kinda high for using water cooling. Is it real hot in the room it is in? If not, you might want to take a look at your power supply.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Tulatin »

100% Stable? 2.7 Ghz, for everything except burn in tests.
KaosKid
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 12:47 pm
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Post by KaosKid »

My computer room can get up to 75-80F due to western exposure. It will be relocated into my basement once it's remodeled.

My power supply is the Antec True430 that came in my 1080Plus case. Currently at Stock speeds my temps show mobo 28/82 and my CPU 38/100 per AsusProbe. When my new Northbridge chipset waterblock arrives I will also reseat my CPU block during installation. At 2.33Ghz idle temps were around 44C, went to 50C during 3dMark2K1Pro. Any higher would kick off 3dm2k1pro, but perhaps that was my Northbridge chip getting too hot?

Currently at stock idle my voltage shows as follows:

12V=11.84
5V= 4.892
3.3V= 3.264-84

Is this normal, or does this indicate a problem with my PSU? The case is only a couple months old from Directron, so I should be able to just RMA the PSU.
[url=http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=19000/]HEATWARE[/url]
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by Tulatin »

Your voltages are fine, they arent below anywhere beyond 10%. Methinks your notrhbridge may be gettign way too hot, so it's time for that waterblock, (maze1 will do ya good)
KaosKid
Green Belt
Green Belt
Posts: 248
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 12:47 pm
Location: 40 clicks West of the Gateway

Post by KaosKid »

maze1 it is. I went into more detail in the "Cooling" section, since it ended up being a parallel post.
[url=http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=19000/]HEATWARE[/url]
Post Reply