What is your highest overclock?

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Sabrewings » Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:59 pm

Best OC on my CPU (for about 10 mins cause of cooling, lol) was 3.95Ghz (263mhz FSB). It was hot, but it sure was quick :D
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby Tulatin » Tue Mar 23, 2004 5:01 pm

shiiiiit man! What cooling? Btw - your ram's logical max fsb is 312.5 (250*5/4) giving you a theoretical max OC of 4.687 ghz 8O Holy Crap! You need a prommie.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby ~Rob » Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:31 am

Grrr...

My new Palomino doesn't overclock as good as the Duron.

I had the Duron go from 1.3 to 1.45Ghz... new chip goes to 1.68 from 1.6 and anything more fails 3D Mark 2001.

btw, Just got 8258 on that, but I have had 8338 with the same setting, just had it a bit cooler.

My PC2700 is also at 350Mhz!!!

Is the multiplier locked?? I'm just wonderin cos this is ealier than the Bartons and the early bartons were not locked.
Image
Jocuri cu impuscaturi si alte genuri, pentru toate varstele doar pe acest link - distractie si amuzament garantat!
~Rob
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:26 pm
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby CDBurner » Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:36 am

I believe that the multiplier on that chip is locked.

Also, I seem to remember hearing that the Palomino chips don't OC very well and that the Thoroughbred chips OC much better. :(
CDBurner
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 6:29 pm

Postby ~Rob » Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:39 am

Oh well.. It's still better than the 1300 at Vice City, and it whoops my Bosses 2400XP cos of my board (still braggin bout that!!)
Image
Jocuri cu impuscaturi si alte genuri, pentru toate varstele doar pe acest link - distractie si amuzament garantat!
~Rob
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:26 pm
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Tulatin » Mon Apr 05, 2004 9:33 am

likely your ram is bottlenecking. Lower it's speed by changing the divider, boost CPU voltage, and try again.
Tulatin
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 14664
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:29 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Sabrewings » Mon Apr 05, 2004 9:46 am

If I ever get into water cooling, I'm gonna see if I can hold that overclock I had. But, right now, I'm happy with a modest 3.6ghz.
Sabrewings
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 18948
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA

Postby YouGiveMeRash!!! » Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:29 am

Ok, now that i have my mobile 2400+ PC running with an ABIT NF7-M- Im going to try to go as high as possible with my crappy 300w Compaq PSU and generic PC2100 ram.

The highest I have gone so far with these parts is Mobile 2400+@2.3ghz 1.6v

Im going to throw in my PC3500 Geil Ram from my P4, and see if that helps me get in the 2.5 range.

Ill post back with the results in a short while. 8)
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2

Postby bond_bbs » Fri May 14, 2004 8:22 pm

RobPope - all palomino's (from 1500+ to 2000+) had hardlocked multipliers (the 2100 Pally being the WORST TO UNLOCK), the only way to unlock them was to connect all 5 of the L1 Bridges on the CPU, which is an extreme pain in the a$$ (having done it myself).

I think with stock mult. on my Xp2000 Palomino, the highest i got was between 1900 and 2000mhz (from stock 1666), and now with lowered multipliers, got 10x166, same clock speed, but more performance, and can run my RAM in sync with my FSB now.

As for highest o/c, stable, i think i can get just over 2.3ghz with my mult locked 2500 @ 1.775v (week 02-2004, bought it within a week of its production). 2.4ghz not completely stable @ 1.8v.. i could prolly keep goin, but my board's vcore tops out at 1.8v...
Athlon X2 4600+
MSI K9N-SLI Platinum
4x1gb OCZ Gold DDR2-800
EVGA Geforce 8800GTS
WD 200g, 250g IDE
WD 320g, 500g SATA
LG H62L, Pioneer DVR212D
Tt XaserIII V2000A
bond_bbs
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2003 9:09 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby ~Rob » Sun May 16, 2004 3:51 am

Thanks for the tip Bond, but I've sold the pally, I'm now back to the 1300 at stock cos of the crap fan I'm stuck with, but a new fan and 2600 XP-M are being sorted soon!
Image
Jocuri cu impuscaturi si alte genuri, pentru toate varstele doar pe acest link - distractie si amuzament garantat!
~Rob
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
 
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:26 pm
Location: Norwich, UK

PreviousNext

Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron