Overclocking a P3-600 on a Jetway 993AN...

Techniques, tips, and advice for the performance PC enthusiast on overclocking.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Overclocking a P3-600 on a Jetway 993AN...

Postby dyaamis_dk » Mon Jun 10, 2002 7:59 am

Hi all,

Am wanting to have a go at overclocking my P3-600. I have no idea how far i can push it and if the fheatsink / fan conbination that came with the processor (a slot 1 with standard fan) will be ok to deal with the overclocking...

I know the basic 'how' i just need some recommendations and anyones past experience dealing with a slot1 P3-600.
dyaamis_dk
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Barnsley (UK)

Postby Tolemac » Sat Jun 15, 2002 6:51 pm

I have no direct experience with overclocking slot 1 CPU's so I'm not sure how far it will go. Same with the heatsink/fan. My suggestion would be to start out in very small increments on the FSB and slowly work them up just a couple MHz at a time, till the system becomes either unstable or too hot. Check your temps constantly, and you should be ok. Once you've gotten to a point of instability, back it off a little and see if it will stay stable for you for a couple of days. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

P3-600 O/C

Postby dyaamis_dk » Sun Jun 16, 2002 8:08 am

Thx for the advice, the only problem is that for some reason this m/board doesn't seem to have temp monitoring. I think i might take it up one level and leave it at that...
dyaamis_dk
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Barnsley (UK)

Postby len444 » Sun Jun 16, 2002 9:36 am

:arrow: :idea: for benchmarking/ diagnostics/ tips, give sisoft sandra a try (2002-standard):

http://www.sisoftware.demon.co.uk/sandra/
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am

benchmark progs

Postby dyaamis_dk » Sun Jun 16, 2002 10:25 am

I've tried most of the popular tools I can find. I've looked at the Jetway site and there is no mention of a temp monitor / health program for my board :(
dyaamis_dk
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 1:01 am
Location: Barnsley (UK)

Postby len444 » Sun Jun 16, 2002 12:45 pm

:idea: possible to get temps in bios? sandra will list temps in 'mainboard info'. perhaps possible to add heat sensor to heatsink- perhaps directron has something:

http://www.directron.com/

["Provide extra " three-wire" fans connectors Y2K Compliant "- i think this implies that the third sensing wire will show temps/ and or fan speed in bios.
http://shop.store.yahoo.com/togopc/jet993anpisl.html

[i haven't used this, but might have found something, seems like for serious overclocking monitoring (worth the $$$?!?)]:
http://shop.store.yahoo.com/inflowdirec ... wit8s.html
len444
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2001 1:01 am


Return to Overclockers Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest