The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:04 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 8:07 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:10 am
Posts: 10
Hi,

Have some Hi Performance Corsair DDR2 memory and am wondering if any Intel DDR2 desktop motherboards can be overclocked?

Searched forum using Intel desktop motherboards but got "Search found 0 matches: Intel desktop motherboards"

Also Googled using Can Any DDR2 Intel Desktop Motherboards be Overclocked got > 7 Million hits Started checking but found nothing relevant

Thanks

Ken


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 10:56 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
"any" is a little vague...

in theory, sure every board can be. the trick is whether it's really supported and if the board is designed to handle it.

do you have a board you're trying to use with the memory?

-R

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:23 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:10 am
Posts: 10
Hi Roach412,

"do you have a board you're trying to use with the memory?"
Yes it is a Intel Desktop Board D945GNT https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... oards.html

Reason for asking is from my limited experience it seems to handle more different DDR2 timings than my Dell, HP or IBM PCs.

I have No experience in OverClocking so am interested in any suggestions...

Thanks

Ken


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2018 8:49 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2744
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
my understanding is that the D945GNT boards really aren't designed for overclocking - I think most of the types of settings used for overclocking are locked in the BIOS. I don't believe you can alter the board voltages(1.8v) - which can significantly limit your options.

getting the highest clocked memory you can from the QVL is probably your best option, in my opinion.

-R

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group