The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 25, 2018 11:12 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 12:37 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:02 pm
Posts: 337
I bought the EZ suite from etrust and the firewall seems to be blocking everything, including google and my yahoo email account. I can't seem to find out how to tweak it to lighten up a little. I know it's the firewall, because when I turn it off and use the XP firewall that comes with Windows, I can get to those sites. Any help would be appreciated.

Shane


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:36 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 3:22 pm
Posts: 9258
Location: 33258
I never use that app before so I can't tell you much about it. Sometimes for firewall you have to log in as admin and such. Secondly, rtfm

_________________
[url=http://www.motherboards.org/folding/index.html] Lend a hand and help with the folding project. Come join our 33258 team!

Image
[/url]


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2005 4:28 pm 
I tried some E-trust bunk on my old Win98 machine. It was junk that looked like Zone Alarm and worked like crap. Sorry to hear that you paid for it. :cry:


Top
  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 12:41 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Posts: 2792
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
jimflint1 wrote:
I bought the EZ suite from etrust and the firewall seems to be blocking everything, including google and my yahoo email account. I can't seem to find out how to tweak it to lighten up a little. I know it's the firewall, because when I turn it off and use the XP firewall that comes with Windows, I can get to those sites. Any help would be appreciated.

Shane


Ive heard of etrust but dont know their software, see if they have a support site to help or a forum at least, also read the directions if it came with any , their may be a tutorial somewhere on the disk that will probably answer all of your questions


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 3:22 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
umm owned by Computer Associates? Good luck in getting decent support.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 11:38 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:02 pm
Posts: 337
Your words are not very comforting! Anyway, I no longer believe that the firewall has anything to do with it, because this morning I turned off the firewall and still got messages like "cannot find google.com". So, would there be any other reason why this would be happening? (and I'm sorry I wasted my money on the firewall, though I've heard the AV is pretty good).

Shane


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 4:18 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Install, update, full scan:
http://www.spybot.info/en/download/index.html

Install, update,full scan:
http://www.download.com/3000-2144-10045 ... tag=button

I think your windows\hosts file is f*cked up by some malware. At least one of these utilities will detect if that is the case and correct the problem.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 10:55 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Mon May 06, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 3937
Location: New York
evasive wrote:
umm owned by Computer Associates? Good luck in getting decent support.


I have their anti-virus and firewall, free courtesy from Optimum Online. You are right about their support. I googled them out before installing. I only installed the virus-scanner but not their firewall, not a good idea to install a firewall with little to no support.

_________________
Image Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:14 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Posts: 2792
Location: St. Augustine, Fl
jimflint1 wrote:
Your words are not very comforting! Anyway, I no longer believe that the firewall has anything to do with it, because this morning I turned off the firewall and still got messages like "cannot find google.com". So, would there be any other reason why this would be happening? (and I'm sorry I wasted my money on the firewall, though I've heard the AV is pretty good).

Shane


their may be some malware on your system or corrupted LSP's or BHO's or simply malware is stealing your bandwidth or your intenet connections or modem or ethernet isnt setup right.

First what is your ISP and how do you connect to the internet? (include your OS)
Check for any driver updates for your hardware.
Reinstall that hardware if needed.

Also note that if you are on dialup, everything may be checking for updates at once when you first connect (AV products, the OS, realplayer, quicktime, Itunes, media player, etc), this will steal bandwidth..
Or if the system goes into standby it may lose connectivity with a device, this requires many updates to fix, bios, chipset, OS etc... All wouldnt hurt updating if possible.

I highly recommend you post a HJT log for review to see if there is anything malicious running.
HiJackThis (HJT) can be found here.
http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis.zip
Or here http://computercops.biz/zx/Merijn/hijackthis.zip


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:22 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
kltsin wrote:
I highly recommend you post a HJT log for review to see if there is anything malicious running.
HiJackThis (HJT) can be found here.
http://www.merijn.org/files/hijackthis.zip
Or here http://computercops.biz/zx/Merijn/hijackthis.zip


Kill off the regular spyware/adware/malware first with spybot S&D/Ad-Aware, else the log may be very long sometimes :lol: but you are right, this is the next step.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group