IdriverT.exe?

Help and Discussion

Moderator: The Mod Squad

IdriverT.exe?

Postby bdub » Sat Feb 12, 2005 2:46 am

anyone know what this is? IdriverT.exe? google comes up with something about macrovision.

it shows up in my hijackthis log.
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby kltsin » Sat Feb 12, 2005 10:35 pm

It seems to be part of an intel driver of some sorts but dont know what exactly, seems to be safe
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl

Postby evasive » Sun Feb 13, 2005 1:16 am

Part of an Installshield package. Should be gone after a restart.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby bdub » Sun Feb 13, 2005 7:52 am

there is precious little resource to read up on this thing using google.

evasive, you say it should be gone after a restart, but hijack this shows it up every time i do a scan, regardless if i restarted. but then, i never removed it with hijackthis because i wasn't sure what it did. are you saying it's safe to remove with hijack this, and then it should be gone with a restart?

has anyone else seen this thing in a hijackthis log?
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby evasive » Sun Feb 13, 2005 9:37 am

Hmm, I think we are looking at a broken installer of some sort.
http://community.installshield.com/arch ... 41600.html

What is the last thing you installed on that machine?
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby bdub » Sun Feb 13, 2005 1:25 pm

steam and halflife 2.

i installed hl2 from the cd set, then while steam was updating on first run, there was a power outage. when i got the system back up, hl2 wouldn't start, so uininstalled steam and reinstalled it from the website, and then i believe steam downloaded all the hl2 components again... or something like that. now that i think about it, this idrivert.exe did popup sometime around when that happened.

but then, i have the same thing coming up on my second computer, which has no games on it at all... hmmmm.
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby kltsin » Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:53 am

I think there is a bit less or more to it than what a google has said so far.

okay beside being a explicit Intel "driver" all of us know some companies make software and use the cpu explicitly.

To find if it was included in an installer or a part of a package do the following.

Do a advanced search of your entire drive using *.*.
After its finished searching, add date created and date modified to the search field.

Find the IdriverT.exe
sort by date created, see what was installed/created at that same time.
Do the same for the modified field.

This may give a hint of what it was intended or installed for.
Of course you have the option of right clicking it and viewing the properties, version, date and time and company that made it as well.
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl

Postby bdub » Mon Feb 14, 2005 7:54 am

looks like it came after adobe acrobat 7 got installed 14 hours before, and sony acid pro 5 is even closer (unpack before, but the rest of it a few hours after). right clicking on the file, i see a copyright to macrovision corp.
the file is located in "C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32"

i'll check my other machine latr, when i get home from work.

these are on amd machines, so would the "IdriverT.exe" be null because i have no intel chip?
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby bdub » Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:28 pm

bdub wrote:looks like it came after adobe acrobat 7 got installed 14 hours before, and sony acid pro 5 is even closer (unpack before, but the rest of it a few hours after). right clicking on the file, i see a copyright to macrovision corp.
the file is located in "C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\1050\Intel 32"

i'll check my other machine latr, when i get home from work.

these are on amd machines, so would the "IdriverT.exe" be null because i have no intel chip?


and on the second computer it got created at the same time (oct 22, 2004 2am-3am), and neither acrobat 7 or acid are on that computer.

could it have been a windows update for something?
bdub
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Location: Washington D.C.

Postby kltsin » Tue Feb 15, 2005 9:02 pm

Well its an installer package, what ever got installed at the time ( not time you noticed it) I would uninstall it, this is easier to type than to figure out. Looks like something didnt install properly, but if everything is working okay.... choice is yours.
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl


Return to Virus/Spyware/Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest