AVG Anti-Virus

Help and Discussion

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Oylpann » Fri Jan 07, 2005 5:00 pm

evasive wrote:
Oylpann wrote:I downloaded and installed AVG v7 for the first time the other day. Seems to be working great. My free one year with Norton was about to expire next month. Glad I saw someone mention AVG here. It picked up one trojan (dialer) that Norton didnt. 8O


Any machine that shows up here with a virus infection either has:
1) no virusscanner installed
2) norton anti-virus 200x installed

so not really surprised there.

You may want to install and run
Ad-Aware SE:
http://www.tucows.com/preview/236049.html
Spybot Search&Destroy
http://www.tucows.com/preview/310138.html
SpywareBlaster:
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html


I dont have spyware blaster but I have the other two apps. The dialer was an extra .exe file that came with some freeware program I had downloaded over a year ago. Never ran it so I guess that was a good thing. :wink:
"You cant hug your family with Nuclear Arms"

Asus F2A85-V Pro
AMD A10-5800K APU @ 4.5GHz
8GB G. Skill 1866
550w PSU
Hyper 212 Evo
Oylpann
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3844
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Postby Toby B. » Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:43 pm

I am currently running AVG 7.0 Free version and love it. I also upgraded my mom's PC to AVG 7.0....


I am very happy with it.. :wink:
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Copper » Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:47 pm

Toby B. wrote:I am currently running AVG 7.0 Free version and love it. I also upgraded my mom's PC to AVG 7.0....


I am very happy with it.. :wink:



i in complete agreement , for something that free, its bl??dy good
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)
Copper
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 8640
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Midlands UK

Postby kltsin » Sat Jan 08, 2005 3:59 am

If anyone hasnt noticed AVG 7 is now noticed by SP2 security center as the other versions werent.

This is probably the main reason for AVG 6 not being valid after the end of month.
I hadnt noticed it untill I created a new profile and it popped up.

Will this make AVG a nusance or a god send to help keep it updated which is never a bad idea or a frequent scan..?
I have the Security center turned off but always remember to update and scan every 2 weeks.. Others arent so wise..
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl

Postby Toby B. » Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:04 am

Your correct in that AVG is not recognized by XP SP2. Probably due to MS going into the realm of Anti Virus!!
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby kltsin » Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:06 am

Toby B. wrote:Your correct in that AVG is not recognized by XP SP2. Probably due to MS going into the realm of Anti Virus!!


Well AVG is now in the security center for anti virus with its latest 7.0 version.
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl

Postby Toby B. » Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:16 am

kltsin wrote:
Toby B. wrote:Your correct in that AVG is not recognized by XP SP2. Probably due to MS going into the realm of Anti Virus!!


Well AVG is now in the security center for anti virus with its latest 7.0 version.
hmm, I ended up disabling the Virus portion of the security center on my mom's machine. 7.0 was not being recognized and she has SP2...
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby kltsin » Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:20 pm

Toby B. wrote:
kltsin wrote:
Toby B. wrote:Your correct in that AVG is not recognized by XP SP2. Probably due to MS going into the realm of Anti Virus!!


Well AVG is now in the security center for anti virus with its latest 7.0 version.
hmm, I ended up disabling the Virus portion of the security center on my mom's machine. 7.0 was not being recognized and she has SP2...


I dont use Security center and have it set to not start, but I just checked and there it is.

heres a screen shot

Image

OOOOPPPSSS, I didnt crop the file enough its accidently showing some of my desktop, hehe
kltsin
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2792
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:05 am
Location: St. Augustine, Fl

Postby Toby B. » Sat Jan 08, 2005 10:34 pm

Interesting site in the background... :P
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Copper » Sat Jan 08, 2005 11:16 pm

Toby B. wrote:Interesting site in the background... :P



fame at last
"Only two thing are infinite, the universe and human stupidity,and Im not sure about the former." Albert Einstein (1879 - 1955)
Copper
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 8640
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 12:38 pm
Location: Midlands UK

PreviousNext

Return to Virus/Spyware/Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest