AVG Anti-Virus

Help and Discussion

Moderator: The Mod Squad

AVG Anti-Virus

Postby tedybear » Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:44 pm

Just a reminder....Anyone using 6.0 version of the software will be S.O.L. at the end of January.

They are still offering a free version 7.xx on their website at this time. Download went smoothly and it's doing its thing just fine.

S-
tedybear
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 7251
Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2004 12:55 am
Location: Fulton, New York, on Earth

Postby YouGiveMeRash!!! » Thu Dec 30, 2004 8:51 pm

Yeah, ive gotten the reminder a couple of times. :wink:
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...
YouGiveMeRash!!!
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 6772
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2

Postby profofpcs » Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:00 pm

i like the new 7.xx free version its smooth on upgrades and havent had one bit of virus troubles.....
Image

depression is just anger without the enthusiasm
anger is just danger without the "d"
profofpcs
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9891
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:07 am
Location: gold country

Postby PolarMan » Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:10 pm

I switched to AVG from Norton a while back........... good stuff, it managed to pick up some trojans that Norton didn't. Plus, it's less hungry on resources too. :)

Some others that I like are NOD32 and Avast
Area3D Staff Member

Pentium 75 // 24 MB RAM // Some unknown SVGA graphics card with 1 MB RAM // 800 MB HDD // Diamond SupraExpress 33.6Kbps modem // Windows NT Workstation 3.51 SP5

Eat my dust.
PolarMan
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 10:34 pm
Location: California

Postby profofpcs » Thu Dec 30, 2004 9:18 pm

avast didnt work well for me. hard to get used to the user interface
Image

depression is just anger without the enthusiasm
anger is just danger without the "d"
profofpcs
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 9891
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2002 9:07 am
Location: gold country

Postby tonycarr » Fri Dec 31, 2004 6:36 am

I switched over some customer rigs to the ver 7 , it's easier to set up than the previous versions , even detected one virus that version 6 did not report .
E Pluribus Unum
tonycarr
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2218
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 12:00 am
Location: SouthEastern , USA

Postby evasive » Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:22 pm

avast seems more power-hungry and has a larger footprint. Running AVG7 here on most of the systems (and some anti-spyware stuff).
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Davek804 » Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:27 pm

About to try AVG for the first time, been running without Spyware/Virus shiz for a few months now.
"We must embrace pain and burn it as fuel for our journey."
Davek804
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3696
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 7:38 pm
Location: Rural Massachusetts

Postby Oylpann » Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:38 pm

I downloaded and installed AVG v7 for the first time the other day. Seems to be working great. My free one year with Norton was about to expire next month. Glad I saw someone mention AVG here. It picked up one trojan (dialer) that Norton didnt. 8O
"You cant hug your family with Nuclear Arms"

Asus F2A85-V Pro
AMD A10-5800K APU @ 4.5GHz
8GB G. Skill 1866
550w PSU
Hyper 212 Evo
Oylpann
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
 
Posts: 3844
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 7:42 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Postby evasive » Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:46 pm

Oylpann wrote:I downloaded and installed AVG v7 for the first time the other day. Seems to be working great. My free one year with Norton was about to expire next month. Glad I saw someone mention AVG here. It picked up one trojan (dialer) that Norton didnt. 8O


Any machine that shows up here with a virus infection either has:
1) no virusscanner installed
2) norton anti-virus 200x installed

so not really surprised there.

You may want to install and run
Ad-Aware SE:
http://www.tucows.com/preview/236049.html
Spybot Search&Destroy
http://www.tucows.com/preview/310138.html
SpywareBlaster:
http://www.javacoolsoftware.com/spywareblaster.html
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Virus/Spyware/Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest

cron