The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 10:53 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Said Goodbye to Mcafee
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:49 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:18 pm
Posts: 2098
Location: West Midlands UK
Well after a recent thread here and looking into just how much resources the Mcafee 2007 security package was taking I uninstalled it....

Always used Mcafee, because I build a lot I have always had access to oem copies and used them for free...

Unfortunately just like Norton Mcafee has really bloated and was slowing down the system...

Now have Free AVG and Zonelarm and have noticed quicker start ups...

Have to say I was shocked at just how many running processes were running in the background....

_________________
"Take counsel in wine, but resolve afterwards in water."
Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:36 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
I'm lucky, I can use the corporate version, same engine but less bloatware around it. But even that is taking more resources than it should be.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:41 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 85
Does your new combo seem to be working well? I have McAfee installed now and it needs updating but I dont like enough to do that and have been looking for alternatives. I do have AVG installed and so far so good with it. Nice little free program. I did have ZoneAlarm installed a PC or two ago. Is it still good as I know at one time it was rated pretty high. I am connecting via a router with the firewall turned on there too. I dont think it will hurt to run both the router firewall and a software program, right? I think even the OS Firewall is on although from reading around on here just a bit it seems as though many say to turn it off? Thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 9:45 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2003 5:59 pm
Posts: 5791
Location: Leeds, UK
I'm putting AVG + CCleaner + Spybot on all my new builds - and trying to decide between Sygate and Zone Alarm.
Everyone seems perfectly happy so far!

_________________
Image

Let there be respect for the earth,
Peace for its people,
Love in our lives,
Delight in the good,
Forgiveness for past wrongs,
And from now on a new start.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 3:18 pm
Posts: 741
Location: over there...
I'm running Comodo's AntiVirus, Firewall Pro, and AntiSpam on this rig.
All free from www.comodo.com for XP.
The Vista versions will be out in another week or so.
They seem to work well.

Have used McAfee before for years, not anymore.

Use Norton Internet Security 2006 and 2007 on other systems.

_________________
"Common sense is not so common." - Voltaire


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:58 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:18 pm
Posts: 2098
Location: West Midlands UK
ChrisG wrote:
Does your new combo seem to be working well? I have McAfee installed now and it needs updating but I dont like enough to do that and have been looking for alternatives. I do have AVG installed and so far so good with it. Nice little free program. I did have ZoneAlarm installed a PC or two ago. Is it still good as I know at one time it was rated pretty high. I am connecting via a router with the firewall turned on there too. I dont think it will hurt to run both the router firewall and a software program, right? I think even the OS Firewall is on although from reading around on here just a bit it seems as though many say to turn it off? Thoughts?


Well all running fine, more than happy with the freebies...

I also have a firewall on my router running as well as Zonealarm, I like the added protection, beauty of Zonealarmis that it alerts you to out going connctions, so if a nastie did get on your system, you have can kill it from accessing the net....


~PJ~ wrote:
I'm putting AVG + CCleaner + Spybot on all my new builds - and trying to decide between Sygate and Zone Alarm.
Everyone seems perfectly happy so far!


I use all of these on new builds for friends....I like Zonealarm...only trouble I found with Sygate was that I was unable to stop the pop up alerts....Zonealarm has a tick box option on alerts so that it stops reminding you...could not find it on the Sygate Firewall

_________________
"Take counsel in wine, but resolve afterwards in water."
Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 10:50 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 4:17 am
Posts: 559
Sygate has a tick box to stop popup messages. go to tools, options and tick hide notification messages


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:45 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 5:18 pm
Posts: 2098
Location: West Midlands UK
sylvester wrote:
Sygate has a tick box to stop popup messages. go to tools, options and tick hide notification messages


Thanks for that.....only gave it a quick test on a new build so never found this, will give it a go again some time....

_________________
"Take counsel in wine, but resolve afterwards in water."
Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Just a thought
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 3:10 pm 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 11:31 pm
Posts: 359
Location: Washington, DC
I like the corporate version of Norton, but it's not available to all. AVG 7.5 free is quite good, and frequently finds viruses that Nortons doesn't..

To address the first writer of this exegesis, I used to love McAfee back in the early days (uh, that would be the late 80's and early 90's). But McAfee has, as you say, become so bloated, and so has Symantec. I like AVG, and I like the fact that it IS free, and they do a very good job. AND you put a spyware program on and be vigilant (like Spy Bot Search and Destroy)...you have a good combination of WAREZ. (As they say, those youngsters.) SpyWare Doctor is also excellent for a small amount of money. I don't recommend running it in active mode unless you have a seriously fast PC. That's all for now.

_________________
Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside a dog, it's too dark to read.
--- Groucho Marx

A member of Folding Team number 33258 for a cure for PARKINSONS DISEASE


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2007 3:21 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4410
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
I thought Norton had claws, but mcafee takes the cake.

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group