The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:38 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

Do you use any Antivirus program?
NO! 14%  14%  [ 1 ]
OF COURSE!!!! 86%  86%  [ 6 ]
Total votes : 7
Author Message
 Post subject: No anti-virus
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:14 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:01 am
Posts: 3
Hi there; is it normal not to use a Antivirus? I have been using PCs for a quite long time, and during the last 3 years or so, i haven't used any antivirus program, since all they did was slow down mi machine; besides, every time I have a problem with some kind of a trojan, i use express recovery from my Gigabyte motherboard, so the problem disappears; am I too confident or its not such a big deal, since ít's very unlikely to have my pc infected?

Most people tell me that I'm crazy and bla bla bla; I would like to hear your thoughts


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:55 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2743
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
there should be a "depends" option.

i never used them in the past, but there's so many exploits on the web (even on "safe" sites) that it's nearly impossible to not get something at some point.

that being said...if you don't do anything that has to do with financials/important/sensitive data, then go for it. if you constantly sign into your banking/credit accounts and do a lot of purchases, then i wouldn't leave yourself completely unprotected. it's your identity, so you can choose to risk it if you want.

so - for my main/heavy lifting machine i use anti-virus/malware/etc. it's powerful enough that it doesn't really impact me.

for my boring laptop that i use to watch youtube and read news/etc...no.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:01 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:01 am
Posts: 3
Roach412 wrote:
there should be a "depends" option.
i never used them in the past, but there's so many exploits on the web (even on "safe" sites) that it's nearly impossible to not get something at some point.

that being said...if you don't do anything that has to do with financials/important/sensitive data, then go for it. if you constantly sign into your banking/credit accounts and do a lot of purchases, then i wouldn't leave yourself completely unprotected. it's your identity, so you can choose to risk it if you want.

so - for my main/heavy lifting machine i use anti-virus/malware/etc. it's powerful enough that it doesn't really impact me.

for my boring laptop that i use to watch youtube and read news/etc...no.
-Roach


well i DO look how much money i have on my credit card; and from times to times, i also buy games on Steam; anyway, i forgot to tell that almost once a month, i pass the Malwarebytes Antimalware software, and also CCleaner; i guess i should do it weekly now; think that is enough?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 9:36 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Check your bank/credit card company policy to see if they have a clause in the contract that says you are responsible for working on a safe computer. I think according to their rules, that means using anti-virus software. You are using sensitive information in there (your credit card details to login).

Are you safe? No, these days phishing websites are made professionally to look exactly like the real deal. Without some form of real-time check it's impossible to tell...

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:19 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:01 am
Posts: 3
evasive wrote:
Check your bank/credit card company policy to see if they have a clause in the contract that says you are responsible for working on a safe computer. I think according to their rules, that means using anti-virus software. You are using sensitive information in there (your credit card details to login).

Are you safe? No, these days phishing websites are made professionally to look exactly like the real deal. Without some form of real-time check it's impossible to tell...


I have WOT installed for Firefox; isn't it supposed to do that??


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 6:43 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
With the proliferation of identity theft and 'phishers' infesting Internet usage, it is prudent.. nay, mandated.. that an anti-virus and firewall program be in place!
If a hacker or malware purveyor gains control of your system, it can be used to proliferate that malware or virus.. and you are as liable for penalties as the originator!
Use of a computer on the Web without an anti-virus/firewall program is akin to walking naked in a mosquito-infested swamp!!

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:09 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Posts: 3147
Location: Right behind you
hollowmike wrote:

I have WOT installed for Firefox; isn't it supposed to do that??


No..Firefox is just another browser. It does NOT have a built-in antivirus or malware protection. You still need to run those prgrams no matter what browser you use.

_________________
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:54 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:36 am
Posts: 20
trust me : use a anti-virus

I got stole my email adress, the person was using it to send spam email to people so my email got close.
And the password of my account on my bank account was changing, good thing is that he cant do anything since he need a code that change each week.

main point : you should REALLY get an anti-virus like avast!,kaspersky etc..


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:03 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:01 am
Posts: 4410
Location: Saint Augustine Florida
To me it is a no brainer not use an Anti Virus utility since they can be had free.

Even if you don't go on line I would think that a PC may still be susceptible to a nasty of some sort just by installing a program that may have someting bad inbedded in it ??????

_________________
“Respect cannot be learned, purchased or acquired - it can only be earned” "Pay It Forward"


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 6:32 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
c327 wrote:
Even if you don't go on line I would think that a PC may still be susceptible to a nasty of some sort just by installing a program that may have something bad embedded in it ??????

Indeed! My AVG recently found some 'possible unknown' viral signature in my BF1942 folder.. a game which I have never gotten use of due to lack of mouse inversion.. "Win32DH.****".
The eGames company has a bad rep with tracker cookies added to user systems. Even Creative Labs once was notorious about "registration" cookies being somewhat malicious.
But you still have to go on line to update your OS status, for any security updates or other registration needs.. or the OS will declare itself DOA.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group