Page 1 of 1

Deleting A File or Folder

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 4:39 am
by Spark
There seems to be two ways of normally deleting something.

1) Delete to the Recycle Bin.

2) While holding down the Shift Key press the Delete Key. Doing this by passes the Recycle Bin.

In method #2 is this deleted file or folder still recoverable, or does this still need to be overwritten a few times to make it unreadable.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 5:37 am
by evasive
still recoverable. you shall and will use seperate software to clean up empty space, in regular intervals if you want to keep your files somewhat private from 99.9% of the worlds population if you want to rent/lend this machine to them.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 8:04 am
by fussnfeathers
Actually, you don't even need to do the shift+F2 if you don't want to have accidental deletion protection. Disable the recycle bin on the drive/drives you don't want to use it on. You can also adjust the size of the bin, so it doesn't keep as many. That'll keep you from recovering large files, like a movie or somesuch, but will allow more "free space" on a hard drive continuously. Personally, I only have the recycle bin enabled on the OS drive.

As was said in your other thread, "deleting" a file in Windows doesn't actually overwrite the sectors the file was stored on. It simply marks the area the file was in as "free to use", rather than "taken" so it can't be written over without the program's permission (without this feature, you'd have a completely trashed hard drive after installing a gigantic game, for example). Once marked as free to use, then Windows can write over those sectors when needed. Nothing is actually deleted, it's all still there. It's entirely possible for me to recover your entire OS after a format, as well, with varying degrees of success.

If you want total file deletion, the only real way to do it is to completely format the drive, marking the whole thing as empty, then using a program like DBAN to continuously overwrite the drive from end to end, three or more times, to ensure every single bit of that drive has been reused. You can't really effectively do this on a drive with an OS and programs installed.

PostPosted: Sun May 23, 2010 7:22 pm
by Copper
the only effective way to make sure files or data is 100% erased to to melt the drive to a blob of metal,

a good data recovery company can get most data back regardless of how many time you overite the data on a drive

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 4:36 pm
by Karlsweldt
See this associate posting you have, as far as ensuring the file is scrubbed..
http://www.motherboards.org/forums/view ... 721#735721

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 12:39 pm
by angelabrookss
You can't really effectively do this on a drive with an OS and programs installed.

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:01 pm
by Karlsweldt
angelabrookss wrote:You can't really effectively do this on a drive with an OS and programs installed.

If the OS is active in such a process, then only the non-system files could be erased. Any files marked as hidden/read only/system will need verification to be erased. To effectively eradicate all files from a hard drive, you must initiate a boot from another drive or from a floppy disk/optical disk.
The first step is to delete any and all partitions on the drive, then do a low-level format and follow the DoD regulations.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 5:05 am
by evasive
angelabrookss wrote:You can't really effectively do this on a drive with an OS and programs installed.


spamming not allowed here... sorry Karl, this is a spammer...

PostPosted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 4:24 pm
by Karlsweldt
evasive wrote:
angelabrookss wrote:You can't really effectively do this on a drive with an OS and programs installed.


spamming not allowed here... sorry Karl, this is a spammer...


Seems they have been hiding in the 'woodwork' and are now hatching!!
Was aware it was a spammer or smart aleck, evasive.. but for anyone else reading the topic and wondering why their format process fails, my reply would be helpful.

one more recommendation

PostPosted: Sat May 14, 2011 11:54 am
by braydenalex
Sometime is ok if you just open the file and select all content (ctrl+A) and paste some random characters, and then save the file and close it and then delete it. Any recovery application will recover the file but the original content is not there , right ? this will work fine only if you don't have to many files, otherwise you will need a software.