a little help please(internet)

Help and Discussion

Moderator: The Mod Squad

a little help please(internet)

Postby knotman » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:03 am

i was giving permission to jump off my friends wireless internet and i`m having a problem connecting to get updates for some reason. if i try to update avg anti virus or my flight sim X it comes up connection failed also when i try to goto windows update i get google instead some pages have what it looks like is a broken page on it and won`t load i also noticed the popups or redirects like i will type in yahoo and i get something else i`m am using Firefox so in ff i have to type the .com or .net

i can get into his router but unless i have to i don`t want to change any thing but i should turn on his firewall but i don`t know if that will mess up an of his connections
K8n-NEO2 platium,AwardBIOS v6.00PG,AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 4000+ Socket 939,ati radeon 9800 xt 256 agp ,windows XP w/service pack 2,2 G`s ram ddr 3200,running dual monitors
knotman
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 9:18 pm
Location: look in you closet

Postby evasive » Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:18 am

this sounds an awful lot like a DNS-hijacker that is part of a rootkit, I'd run malwarebytes anit-malware and superantispyware in safe mode on your system first...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby knotman » Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:18 am

but now what about there comps next door would they still infect me or should i clean theres to???
K8n-NEO2 platium,AwardBIOS v6.00PG,AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 4000+ Socket 939,ati radeon 9800 xt 256 agp ,windows XP w/service pack 2,2 G`s ram ddr 3200,running dual monitors
knotman
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 9:18 pm
Location: look in you closet

Postby knotman » Wed Jan 14, 2009 9:12 am

thanks i ran superantispyware in windows mode and it took care of it

thanks again :lol: happy camper now
K8n-NEO2 platium,AwardBIOS v6.00PG,AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 4000+ Socket 939,ati radeon 9800 xt 256 agp ,windows XP w/service pack 2,2 G`s ram ddr 3200,running dual monitors
knotman
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 859
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2003 9:18 pm
Location: look in you closet


Return to Virus/Spyware/Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest