The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 2:33 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Loading pages twice
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 10:19 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 768
Location: NY
Most of the time I have to click links two and three times before the page will load. Some times the page loads but it is all HTML text until I click refresh. It happens with all versions of firefox. I use IE to log into my netflix page and IE freezes up 6 times out of ten when trying to load the page.

I have ran all the anti-spyware programs I can find and they tell me I'm clean. I have ran AVG8 and Avast antivirus and they tell me I'm clean so I don't think it's a virus or spyware.

On this PC I am running Kerio personal firewall. I have noticed the ALG.EXE file running in task manager and I wonder if this needs to run when I'm not using internet connection sharing or the windows firewall.

I'm not sure when this started. Four things happened around the same time. I upgraded to AVG 8, I bought a new router, Service pak 3 and Firefox 3 came out.
As for the router; My PC is the only one on my network having any problems but it is the only one running Kerio. I have change back to Firefox 2.0**. and I have removed AVG8 and installed Avast.

Any thoughts?

_________________
Image
It's always funny until someone loses an Operating System!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 5:18 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
You could try changing Kerio for the windows firewall just to see if that helps. When was the last time you checked your patch cords?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:50 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 768
Location: NY
I will try uninstalling Kerio later tonight. I have used Kerio for about 6 years and don't know if I can live without it. :-| I don't think the Windows firewall gives me much in the way of security though. I have an extra patch cord to try also.

_________________
Image
It's always funny until someone loses an Operating System!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 11:13 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
I didn't say that would be a permanent solution, I'm merely trying to exclude things, if Kerio is acting up, maybe they have an update or patch, who knows.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:25 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 768
Location: NY
Well the check for updates button within the software said there were no updates available. I decided to check at their website anyway and guess what; There have been a lot of updates. So I've downloaded the latest version and that seems to have improved the Firefox issue I've only had to click one site's link twice but I think that's normal once in a while.
When loading Netflix; IE was locking up and needed to be manually closed to continue. After the update; I load my Netflix page and it seemed to lock up but after 20 seconds or so it finished loading.
I think I'm all set. It looks like the update was the answer! I feel like an airhead for not checking their website first.

Thanks evasive

_________________
Image
It's always funny until someone loses an Operating System!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 12:41 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37463
Location: Netherlands
Ha! And guess how I come to ask this question. Been there, done that although different issue and other trivial solution. :)

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group