The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 11:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 119 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:43 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:04 am
Posts: 18948
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
If we're talking about an internet connection, the average hard drive can max out a cable connection easy. Why bother with a RAID?

Now, if you're just transferring within the network on a gigabit connection, then RAID will begin to boost performance.

_________________
ImageImage
RIAA vs The People


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:49 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 7:18 pm
Posts: 3039
Location: Japan
Heh...
well, it took me awhile to actually get this done (totally my fault), but I had the front panel of my case replaced recently.

I contacted the case manufacturer on the slight chance they might do something. I didn`t want to use the store I got it from, because they were so painfully slow, and probably had no-one who spoke English. The case company was so nice about everything. They asked me to trouble shoot a couple of things first, then told me to mail the front panel collect. They sent back a new front panel within a few days with a nice letter apologizing for the trouble. Now the LCD is working beautifully...
now the next issue is, should I plug more fans into it just so I have more to monitor on the LCD hahahahah

_________________
"He o hitte shiri tsubome" - (There is no use scrunching up your buttocks after a fart)

Abit KN9 Ultra
AMD X2 3800
Corsair DDR2 2X2GB
HIS Radeon 4670 1GB
Intel SSD
150GB Raptor
1TB WD Green X3

(hooked up to new 100M FTTH line)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 11:04 am 
Offline
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree

Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2002 6:48 pm
Posts: 6772
Location: Fast, Cheap, and Reliable- You can only choose 2
Ryn, did you get rid of your sweet water cooling setup? :(

_________________
Main rig: 1/2" ID Water Cooled Lian-Li V2000B, Abit IP35 Pro, Intel C2D E6750@ -3.4ghz 1.3375v, Mushkin 2gb DDR2-800 996576, one terabyte storage, evga 7900GS KO w/ Zalman VF700-AlCu cooler, Swiftech Apogee GT water block, Ultra X2 550w PSU
Laptop: Asus Z70VA, Pentium M 725 1.6@ -2.13ghz (pinmod), ATI X700 Pro, 1680x1050 native res., bluetooth, the works...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:42 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 4390
Location: Manila, Philippines
Unfortunately, yes. One of the pump had an electrical failure of some sort and affected the other pump as well. I might rebuild it in the near future if I find some time and make a better external case for it :wink:

_________________
Image
Join the Motherboards.org Folding Team 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: my main unit
PostPosted: Mon Dec 17, 2007 10:29 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 5:51 pm
Posts: 18
Areocool masscool, Intel 955xcs btx mainboard intel 3.0 pentium d dual core cpu,and 4 gig of pc2 533 ramwill be upgrading to 64 bit os so as to be able to take advantage of 8 gig ddr2 667 ram Diablo 512 vid sli,thermaltake 735 kit with a 120mmx240mm rad., 32" lcd tv monitor, 2 750 gig sata300 hdd, lightscribe dvd burner, dvd rom and remote media controler


Last edited by Michaelapctech on Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:42 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2007 3:39 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 2:25 pm
Posts: 776
Location: Merseyside, UK
Current system:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+, MSI K8N Neo2, 1.5Gb DDR400, Asus 6800GT AGP, Maxtor 300Gb IDE, WD 120Gb IDE, Seagate 80Gb IDE, NEC DVD-RW, 400W FSP PSU, Beantech Igloo 3, 20" LG L204WT Widescreen Monitor.

Planned system (Jan/Feb 2008):

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750, Abit IP35 Pro, 2Gb Corsair TwinX XMS2 DDRII 800, Sapphire HD 3870 512Mb PCI-E, Samsung 500Gb SATA, Maxtor 300Gb IDE, WD 120Gb IDE, Samsung Lightscribe DVD-RW, Sharkoon Rebel 12 Economy black, Zalman 600W Heatpipe PSU, 6x Sharkoon Silent 2000 120mm fans.

Haven't decided on which HSF yet. Either Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme with 2 fans (push-pull) or something similar.

:D


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:34 pm
Posts: 786
Location: Iamwhereiamtoday (CA)
Gaming Rig: Q6600 2.4Ghz, 8GB DDR2 800, 160GB HD, 8800GTS 640MB, Vista Home Premium 64-bit,

Lan Rig: E4500 C2D 2.2Ghz, 2GB DDR2 533, 500GB HD, ATI x1650, XP Pro

Server: Mac Pro, 8 cores 2.8Ghz Penryn, 8GB DDR2 667, 320GB HD, 3x750GB HDs, 8800GT, OS X Leopard Server, (eventurally I will upgrade to 16GB of ram, when I have the money)

Laptop: MacBook, 2ghz C2D, 950 Intagrated, 2GB DDR2 667, 80GB HD, OS X Leopard, (soon to upgrade to a 250GB Hard Drive)

I'm going to post pictures when I get everything setup in my new computer room in my house (my mom's letting me take over the guest bedroom and convert it into a computer lab)

I should be buying the Mac Pro tomorrow, and I'm ordering the additional hard drives and ram from Newegg in a few days. This tower is going to be used for video editing, college, and for learning how to use a server Operating System ^_^

(and to everyone who is wondering: Yes, I am quite insane about my computer purchases)

_________________
People who have gone through Starfleet academy should be taught how to fix everything. Even a Roman aqueduct.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:30 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 6:54 am
Posts: 128
Hey guys. Anyone remember me? :P
I keep forgetting this place... Anyway, I'm back, and with a kickass PC. 8)
(I'm basically just gonna copy what DXDIAG tells me...)

Processor: AMD Athlon(tm)+ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6400+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs) - 3.2 GHz
Memory: 3326 MB (3.326 GB)
Graphics card: NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTX with 768 MB of memory
Harddrive: 232 GB
OS: Windows XP

Wish I'd had Vista now, as I can't have DX10 on Crysis. :(


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:54 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Posts: 654
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they
Let's see who has some of the best monitor setups....

I've got 2x NEC E700 @ 1600*1200.
(now to get a card so I can actually use the two monitors, maybe a 3rd....)

_________________
I'm gonna get my new hardware. And my worklog here.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 119 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group