Good Linux Newbie Site?

Post here if you just want to chat about... whatever.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Good Linux Newbie Site?

Postby Aibohphobia » Sun May 19, 2002 7:46 pm

Was wondering if there were any good, current linux websites out that can give me some hints on how to use it for just regular tasks? I'm on Redhat 7.3.. All I've been able to do is install AIM..in the past two hours of using it.
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun May 19, 2002 7:48 pm

Are you within X or console?
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Aibohphobia » Sun May 19, 2002 8:14 pm

X, I believe.. since I sure know I'm not in console..
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sun May 19, 2002 8:43 pm

http://www.linuxlinks.com/Beginners/

http://www.linuxdocs.org

Read man. Read Read Read!

You are in X or X11, not X-Windows, or Windows. Its called X or X11. Lesson #1. Linux people are nitorious for focusing on mistakes.

Second. X is not an OS. Its a GUI that gives you a way of modifying portions of Linux grahically. It has add-ons to run Games and Apps.
X and Linux is like Windows 3.11 and DOS, if Windows configs were based on DOS files, rather then being a completely different program entirely.

I strongly recommend you explore the console. Its the very heart of Linux.

And I understand how long it can take to do stuff. It took me 6 months to get Apache configured just the way i needed it.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby BittaBrotha » Sun May 19, 2002 9:26 pm

What Hardware Junkie mention is the way to go.

Here's one of my favorite Linux sites, Linux Newbie, also you may try Linux Questions site!
WinCE, WinME, & WinNT
What does it spell?
CEMENT, guaranteed to weigh you down!
BittaBrotha
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 12:01 am
Location: So. IL

Postby Aibohphobia » Sun May 19, 2002 10:41 pm

Wow thanks a lot for those great sites, Hardware Junkie and BittaBrotha. As for me, I'm rather notorious for focusing on spelling mistakes :P
Oh and is Linux-Mandrake still just like RedHat? For some odd reason I couldn't install Mandrake--some Signal 11 error??-- but I could install RedHat with no problem.
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Wyrm73 » Tue May 21, 2002 8:48 pm

Mandrake and Red Hat are not the same and yet they are. You will find mention of linux distributions. What this means is that they are both Linux at the core, but each distribution may use different kernal revisions, different desktops (KDE or GNOME), have different options for games and utilities, etc. Most distributions have a specific purpose in mind (ease of use, speed, etc.) I have tinkered with Mandrake and Red Hat, and believe me they are different. They install differently, they look different and they act different. It's largely a matter of personal preference.

I had the exact opposite problem as you. I could get Mandrake to install on my main computer, but not Red Hat. One word of advice; live by the hardware compatibility lists. At least until you have more experience. I learned this the hard way.
Wyrm73
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Tue May 21, 2002 11:03 pm

You might want to double check your hardware. Signal 11's are usually hardware related.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Aibohphobia » Wed May 22, 2002 1:02 am

Yeah everything is spiffy, all of my devices are supported by Mandrake and RedHat. I'm not overclocked or anything.. I wonder what's up?? It says Signal 11 when it tries to mount my ram as type ext2fs -- I believe that is what it says atleast?.
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!
Aibohphobia
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am


Return to The Water Cooler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest