The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:23 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Good Linux Newbie Site?
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 7:46 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
Was wondering if there were any good, current linux websites out that can give me some hints on how to use it for just regular tasks? I'm on Redhat 7.3.. All I've been able to do is install AIM..in the past two hours of using it.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 7:48 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Are you within X or console?

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 8:14 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
X, I believe.. since I sure know I'm not in console..

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 8:43 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
http://www.linuxlinks.com/Beginners/

http://www.linuxdocs.org

Read man. Read Read Read!

You are in X or X11, not X-Windows, or Windows. Its called X or X11. Lesson #1. Linux people are nitorious for focusing on mistakes.

Second. X is not an OS. Its a GUI that gives you a way of modifying portions of Linux grahically. It has add-ons to run Games and Apps.
X and Linux is like Windows 3.11 and DOS, if Windows configs were based on DOS files, rather then being a completely different program entirely.

I strongly recommend you explore the console. Its the very heart of Linux.

And I understand how long it can take to do stuff. It took me 6 months to get Apache configured just the way i needed it.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 9:26 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2002 12:01 am
Posts: 104
Location: So. IL
What Hardware Junkie mention is the way to go.

Here's one of my favorite Linux sites, Linux Newbie, also you may try Linux Questions site!

_________________
WinCE, WinME, & WinNT
What does it spell?
CEMENT, guaranteed to weigh you down!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 19, 2002 10:41 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
Wow thanks a lot for those great sites, Hardware Junkie and BittaBrotha. As for me, I'm rather notorious for focusing on spelling mistakes :P
Oh and is Linux-Mandrake still just like RedHat? For some odd reason I couldn't install Mandrake--some Signal 11 error??-- but I could install RedHat with no problem.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 8:48 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1347
Mandrake and Red Hat are not the same and yet they are. You will find mention of linux distributions. What this means is that they are both Linux at the core, but each distribution may use different kernal revisions, different desktops (KDE or GNOME), have different options for games and utilities, etc. Most distributions have a specific purpose in mind (ease of use, speed, etc.) I have tinkered with Mandrake and Red Hat, and believe me they are different. They install differently, they look different and they act different. It's largely a matter of personal preference.

I had the exact opposite problem as you. I could get Mandrake to install on my main computer, but not Red Hat. One word of advice; live by the hardware compatibility lists. At least until you have more experience. I learned this the hard way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2002 11:03 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
You might want to double check your hardware. Signal 11's are usually hardware related.

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2002 1:02 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
Yeah everything is spiffy, all of my devices are supported by Mandrake and RedHat. I'm not overclocked or anything.. I wonder what's up?? It says Signal 11 when it tries to mount my ram as type ext2fs -- I believe that is what it says atleast?.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group