Switching Providers - Less then prompt service

Post here if you just want to chat about... whatever.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Jun 14, 2002 7:55 pm

DSL is cheaper here and you can host servers off of it. A cap on my bandwidth would litterally kill my wallet.
DSL can be setup within 24 hours, but right now they are swamped.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Toby B. » Fri Jun 14, 2002 8:02 pm

Dam.......I wish I lived in Canada. I had tried the AOL DSL - :roll: IT SUCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could not have my computer even turned on to talk on the phone; but I dont know the cause. I had (at the time) a brand new 900 MHz Sony corless phone and told tech support the problem I was having and they told me I needed a new phone.... :roll: yeah right. I spent $104USD on this phone.

Toby
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Wyrm73 » Fri Jun 14, 2002 8:51 pm

HJ, I was just curious, what does DSL cost in your area? DSL is about $50 USD for a 640K download/ 256K upload line. I pay $45 USD for cable and I get 1.5M download/ 128K upload. (Kinda lopsided huh?) I am going to buy my own modem and that will lower the price another $10. There is no such option for DSL.
Wyrm73
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Fri Jun 14, 2002 9:47 pm

DSL is $34.99 Canadian ($22.43 USD)
Cable is $45.99 Canadian ($29.48 USD)

DSL is 1.2 Meg download, upload can be from 600k to 900k depending on the time of day.
Cable is 3Meg download, 500k to 1Meg upload, depending on the time of day.

But DSL is the only one that allows you to host servers...

I rent a DSL modem for 10 bucks a month. Or buy it for $250.

You can also get 3Meg DSL here, but I have not looked into pricing...
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby datektrader21 » Fri Jun 14, 2002 9:53 pm

I despise you canadians and your cheap prices :evil: i pay 44.00us/month For my DSL and it’s only suppose to be 768down 128 up. But since it’s AOL you never see your full bandwidth. You can get 1.5meg down and up with verizon for about 130/month of course that depends on location and distance from the sub station. The most I could ever hope for is 1.5 Mbps downstream/128 Kbps upstream. But that’s only 59.00 I think it will be my next DSL move. Since I have 2 lines I will just have it installed on the other one and cancel AOL when it’s ready.
Two muffins are baking in an oven. one muffin says to the other,"hey man its getting pretty hot in here" "Holy $%^!@#" the other muffin replys " A talking muffin!" MaximMAg
datektrader21
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1432
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2001 12:01 am
Location: L.A.

Postby Toby B. » Fri Jun 14, 2002 10:02 pm

I just took a look at the specs again for AOL DSL and it sounds so impressive "connect up to 50 Times Faster"
up to 50 times faster than a 28.8kbps modem
I thought it was gonna be 50X faster then the 56K modem :roll: :oops: I did not read the fine print...I wonder about the server hosting availability here in the states.

Toby
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby Porphyria » Sat Jun 15, 2002 11:00 am

In the Netherlands, there is a service called BBB (Bred Bands Bolaget) or something like that. It costs around 45 dollars a month and gives 10 mb up and down. Ooooh... shiny. My friend uncapped his cable modem and its great. He gets like 7mb up and 2 down. I never did because it is too risky. If they find out they will cancel your service and fine you/ charge you with cable theft. Its bad times. Capped, I get like 500kbps when I should be getting 2000 or so... *grumble, grumble, grumble* :roll:
Kids in a fast lane living for today
No rules to abide by and no one to obey
ID This Quote
Porphyria
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2002 12:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Jun 15, 2002 12:22 pm

Yeah the old Lancity cable modems used to allow you to run a 10mbps up and down if you knew how to crack them. Man those were some good years, before they replaced them all with Terayon's...
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby Wyrm73 » Sat Jun 15, 2002 9:17 pm

Is that where they cap the speed, the modem? I thought it was done at the cable office or the local node.
Wyrm73
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1347
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2001 1:01 am

Postby Hardware Junkie » Sat Jun 15, 2002 9:25 pm

The older Lancity's were configured internally...the others were configured at the office. I think it was to leave room for upgrading to faster lines for more money
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

PreviousNext

Return to The Water Cooler

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest