The end of the desktop...

Post here if you just want to chat about... whatever.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

The end of the desktop...

Postby Mr T » Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:06 pm

Looks like Intel are ending desktop motherboard manufacturing:

One Article

Once one starts, the rest will follow...!
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Postby evasive » Sun Jan 27, 2013 10:56 pm

We have seen others go before. The worrying thing is no new kids on the block for desktop boards recently. The last big addition was Zotac, not seen any new players after that, correct me if I'm wrong.

Some other opinions about where the desktop is going:
http://www.retail-digital.com/retail_te ... t-dead-yet
We hate rut, but we fear change.
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Postby Hardware Junkie » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:38 am

Your going to see requests for them for the forseable future. Too many businesses depend on the platform.
You just may not see as many custom boxes anymore.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Jan 28, 2013 6:52 am

A possibility the "desktop" system may shrink its market use somewhat in a few years. But may not become totally obsolete. Yes, 'smart phones' and hand-held tablets are faster and better than they were, years ago.. but still cannot match the full spectrum of use that a 'desktop' system has.
Yet if Intel drops its motherboard line for desktop systems, other companies will fill the void.