BOO!!!

Post here if you just want to chat about... whatever.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

BOO!!!

Postby Myth » Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:13 pm

Hi Peeps! Enlighten me. Who's done what to who? Why? and was I invited but it got lost in the mail?
Myth
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Postby Mr T » Sat Oct 01, 2011 11:54 pm

Well to me the forums are very, very, very quiet - more action in a morgue... I think the motherboards.org Facebook pages have taken off.. It is much the same on other forums that I visit... :( Couple that with life in general (Yes I am lucky I still have a job, albeit on a pay cut, but doing more (typical) along with the shop), more people buying tablets/netbooks/notebooks and a lot more people being tech savvy......
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Postby Hardware Junkie » Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:03 am

Hey Myth.
I don't know if its more people being tech savvy - I think it has a lot to do with stuff being too easy to fix yourself, or simply replace if its broken.

Gone are the days of manuals and dip switches...

I spend most of my days fixing software related issues, rather then hardware.
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Postby evasive » Tue Oct 04, 2011 5:54 am

I recently chucked out 90% of all hardware, replacing my servers with one new box running vmware ESX and a bunch of virtuals. This is good for my power bill and maybe I can actually use my house as a place to live in instead of being a warehouse/storage area :o