The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:50 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2002 7:42 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
just curious if anyone knows this yet, but will the upcoming K8 (opteron, hammer, whatever it's name is, lol) be a Socket A chip, or are they making a New socket for it?
________
stocks to buy now


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2002 5:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 755
The next line will be all Socket 462, however I believe new motherboards will be required for the latest K8 chips.
I hate black people.

_________________
Go hang a salami; I'm a lasagna hog!
A man, a plan, a butt tub: anal Panama!
Goddam mad dog!


Last edited by Aibohphobia on Tue Jun 25, 2002 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2002 5:18 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 19405
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh
Technically the TBird would be considered the K8, the K7 was the classic Athlon design. And that would make the AthlonXP designs K9s...

But I think they've abandoned those classifications

_________________
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2002 7:32 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
yea, I remember the "real" K7's, but everyone seems to be calling this next gen the K8, instead of the K10.
________
how to roll a blunt


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2002 3:25 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Mon Nov 22, 1999 1:01 am
Posts: 10244
Location: Mackay, Queensland, Australia
http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/02q1/020313/athlonxp-01.html

Quote:
Processor - Athlon XP Thoroughbred

Clock Frequencies - 1.86 - 2.xx GHz

Platform - Socket462

CPU Bus Clock - 133 MHz / 266 MHz DDR

Chipset support - VIA KT133A to KT333A
SiS 735 and SiS 745
ALi Magik 1
Nvidia nForce
AMD 750 and 760

Type of Memory - SDRAM, DDR-SDRAM

Core Voltage - 1,5 Volt


It certainly looks promising for current socket A boards being able to support the Thoroughbred processor but even so we will be relying on manufacturers to release bios updates that support the processor for each particular board.

As for the 'hammer series of processors I think that we will find ourselves forking out for new boards even if they are a socket A processor.


Aussie

_________________
Our lives begin to end the day we become silent about things that matter - Martin Luther King


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2002 9:14 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
ok, you lost me...

so after the current Polimino XP comes the Thoroughbred XP, and then the HammerXP?

is the only difference between the Polimino and the Thoroughbred the core, much like there are different versions of P4s available (willamete, tualitan, etc)?
________
Kawasaki ZN1100B


Last edited by andrey on Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2002 3:18 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
I correct myself, the Hammer is a socket 754.
________
Hare krishna - iskcon dicussion


Last edited by andrey on Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2002 5:50 pm 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Sun May 26, 2002 8:05 pm
Posts: 111
what about the barton series. arent they just thoroughbreds with more l2 cache? if this is true, then they too, should be able to work with current boards, given the fact that the manufacturer will update bios. or am i just living in a fanatical world where motherboard replacement only happens once every decade?

_________________
asus a7v333 w/raid
amd athlon xp 2100+
512mb ocz pc 2700 rev 3
40gb ibm 120gxp hdd
asus 40x12x48 cd-rw
panasonic floppy
ati radeon 64mb ddr vivo


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2002 8:58 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 561
bartons should work, all they did was lower the process to .13 microns and enlarge the cache...
________
Herbalaire Review


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group