Page 4 of 23

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 12:44 pm
by Grime
Here's a kicker that happened to me just the other day....

I bought an APC BX800 for a server that I mantain for a computer center. I plugged everything in, only to find that the "Faulty Building Wiring" light came on. So I called an electrician to come out and see if we were missing a ground wire or something. Well, he decided that he needed to switch the breaker off without asking anyone first. Sure, this would have been ok if I had plugged the server's power cord into the battery backup part of the UPS, but it was only plugged into the surge part of it. DOH! For some reason one of the hard drives in my RAID 1 switched to RAID 0! I don't know how the power outage effected it in that way, but it did. I had to delete the RAID 0 array, and rebuild the RAID 1 array, which thankfully worked (although it took about 3 hours).

Oh yeah, and then once I rebooted into W2k3 it was only to find that my Active Directory was corrupt, and I hadn't made a backup yet. And thus, I did a full re-install.

Leasons Learned: 1) Make sure you plug the computer into the battery backup rather than just surge protection on an APC. 2) After you build an Active Directory make sure to set up a backup routine. 3) Install the APC software immediately after the APC. -- If the computer HAD actually stayed on during the power failure, I hadn't installed the software for it yet, and so it would have eventually crashed rather than shut itself down with 5 minutes of the battery remaining like it does with the software installed.

All in all, it took about 10 hours to get everything back up and running.

PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 7:40 pm
by S33K3R
Wow it became a sticky. I would post all my mistakes to avoid but I have none to post :lol:
Thats because you guys have probably posted them all already. :lol: I am sure I will make some more later on. You can never gain to much experience to prevent you from making more mistakes. :wink:

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:22 pm
by Twisty
Ever guess what power brick belongs to what router/switch/hub and got it wrong? I have a few times.

Infact I have just inherited a very nice little switch becasue my flat mate blew it up with the wrong power brick.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 6:59 pm
by evasive
webster wrote:Ever guess what power brick belongs to what router/switch/hub and got it wrong? I have a few times.

Infact I have just inherited a very nice little switch becasue my flat mate blew it up with the wrong power brick.


If unknown and belonging to me I'll open it to find out what voltage it needs and mark it as such on the casing.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:25 am
by ZieClaw
well yeah i nvr use them unless i know for sure its the right one :)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:27 am
by evasive
Ha, and check the brick for proper output before connecting it, some fail and give way too high voltage, goodbye switch/printserver/whatever 8O

hehe

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:35 am
by ZieClaw
see thats what i do 8)

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 11:47 am
by Twisty
Problem is I always see the good in people, when they give me a piece of equipment and a brick I assume that they gave me the right ones.[1]
Not blown anything up yet, although last week a PDA got very hot and the screen went black.

[1] Someones sig here used to be never assume anything, I should listen more.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 1:25 pm
by evasive
webster wrote:Problem is I always see the good in people, when they give me a piece of equipment and a brick I assume that they gave me the right ones.[1]
Not blown anything up yet, although last week a PDA got very hot and the screen went black.

[1] Someones sig here used to be never assume anything, I should listen more.


It still is, but sometimes I get lucky, hence the change :lol:

How to destroy SB cards

PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:51 am
by skydive
Last year I tried to get replace the ribbon cables between the SB 5.1 Live! Digital, the Live Drive and the Digital I/O card with the round silver Akasa IDE cables I use in the rest of the system...

Having replaced the blanked-off connectors with fully usable ones, I turned the system on...

Hey presto! a bang, a burning smell, some smoke and £240 of knackered soundcards. (yes, I know the instructions say not to replace their cable with an IDE, but I wanted to try anyway)

D'oh! :x




MSI KT3 Ultra2 BR
XP2800+ (Barton)
2 x 256 Corsair XMS 2700 @ 2,2,2,5
2 x Maxtor 80 gig 8 meg cache @ RAID 0
MSI Ti4200 8x
SB Audigy 2 Platinum
Asetek Waterchill on CPU & NB

Running @ 32 degrees C!