The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 3:43 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 228 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 23  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 12:44 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Posts: 493
Location: Port Aransas, Tx
Here's a kicker that happened to me just the other day....

I bought an APC BX800 for a server that I mantain for a computer center. I plugged everything in, only to find that the "Faulty Building Wiring" light came on. So I called an electrician to come out and see if we were missing a ground wire or something. Well, he decided that he needed to switch the breaker off without asking anyone first. Sure, this would have been ok if I had plugged the server's power cord into the battery backup part of the UPS, but it was only plugged into the surge part of it. DOH! For some reason one of the hard drives in my RAID 1 switched to RAID 0! I don't know how the power outage effected it in that way, but it did. I had to delete the RAID 0 array, and rebuild the RAID 1 array, which thankfully worked (although it took about 3 hours).

Oh yeah, and then once I rebooted into W2k3 it was only to find that my Active Directory was corrupt, and I hadn't made a backup yet. And thus, I did a full re-install.

Leasons Learned: 1) Make sure you plug the computer into the battery backup rather than just surge protection on an APC. 2) After you build an Active Directory make sure to set up a backup routine. 3) Install the APC software immediately after the APC. -- If the computer HAD actually stayed on during the power failure, I hadn't installed the software for it yet, and so it would have eventually crashed rather than shut itself down with 5 minutes of the battery remaining like it does with the software installed.

All in all, it took about 10 hours to get everything back up and running.

_________________
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 27, 2004 7:40 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 3:18 am
Posts: 2466
Wow it became a sticky. I would post all my mistakes to avoid but I have none to post :lol:
Thats because you guys have probably posted them all already. :lol: I am sure I will make some more later on. You can never gain to much experience to prevent you from making more mistakes. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 2:22 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
Ever guess what power brick belongs to what router/switch/hub and got it wrong? I have a few times.

Infact I have just inherited a very nice little switch becasue my flat mate blew it up with the wrong power brick.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 28, 2004 6:59 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
webster wrote:
Ever guess what power brick belongs to what router/switch/hub and got it wrong? I have a few times.

Infact I have just inherited a very nice little switch becasue my flat mate blew it up with the wrong power brick.


If unknown and belonging to me I'll open it to find out what voltage it needs and mark it as such on the casing.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:25 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:54 am
Posts: 396
Location: The Netherlands
well yeah i nvr use them unless i know for sure its the right one :)

_________________
pentium 1 66 mhz uber powerfull -.-

rig specs:
msi kt6 delta-lsr mobo
AMD Athlon xp 2600+ barton
512 mb kingston value ram
120 gb 7200 rmp 8mb sata wd hdd
fic radeon 9600 pro 500/368
philips 4/2/32 cd-rw
msi 16x dvd rom
Sweex Xenon XB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:27 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
Ha, and check the brick for proper output before connecting it, some fail and give way too high voltage, goodbye switch/printserver/whatever 8O

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: hehe
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:35 am 
Offline
Brown Belt
Brown Belt

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 5:54 am
Posts: 396
Location: The Netherlands
see thats what i do 8)

_________________
pentium 1 66 mhz uber powerfull -.-

rig specs:
msi kt6 delta-lsr mobo
AMD Athlon xp 2600+ barton
512 mb kingston value ram
120 gb 7200 rmp 8mb sata wd hdd
fic radeon 9600 pro 500/368
philips 4/2/32 cd-rw
msi 16x dvd rom
Sweex Xenon XB


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 11:47 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 1970
Location: UK / Singapore
Problem is I always see the good in people, when they give me a piece of equipment and a brick I assume that they gave me the right ones.[1]
Not blown anything up yet, although last week a PDA got very hot and the screen went black.

[1] Someones sig here used to be never assume anything, I should listen more.

_________________
I have now left the Building :tongue8:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 1:25 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
webster wrote:
Problem is I always see the good in people, when they give me a piece of equipment and a brick I assume that they gave me the right ones.[1]
Not blown anything up yet, although last week a PDA got very hot and the screen went black.

[1] Someones sig here used to be never assume anything, I should listen more.


It still is, but sometimes I get lucky, hence the change :lol:

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: How to destroy SB cards
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2004 2:51 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 12:21 pm
Posts: 38
Location: Middlesbrough, UK
Last year I tried to get replace the ribbon cables between the SB 5.1 Live! Digital, the Live Drive and the Digital I/O card with the round silver Akasa IDE cables I use in the rest of the system...

Having replaced the blanked-off connectors with fully usable ones, I turned the system on...

Hey presto! a bang, a burning smell, some smoke and £240 of knackered soundcards. (yes, I know the instructions say not to replace their cable with an IDE, but I wanted to try anyway)

D'oh! :x




MSI KT3 Ultra2 BR
XP2800+ (Barton)
2 x 256 Corsair XMS 2700 @ 2,2,2,5
2 x Maxtor 80 gig 8 meg cache @ RAID 0
MSI Ti4200 8x
SB Audigy 2 Platinum
Asetek Waterchill on CPU & NB

Running @ 32 degrees C!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 228 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 23  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group