Embarassing installation faults...that others should avoid!

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

User avatar
TriAngle
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 741
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 3:18 pm
Location: over there...

Post by TriAngle »

Rob_Pope wrote:
Stupid Mistakes... Where to start??

1) (yes they are numbered!!) Put SDRAM in the wrong way, needless to say a nice puff of smoke and it never worked

2) How does using a 2000XP running Splinter Cell Demo's sound without the fan plugged in. Got it up to 116C and it worked fine!!!

3) Dropping a monitor and splitting the plastic cover

4) USB cables for the case ports with the + and - data cables the wrong way

5) Scratchin a motherboard while putting on the HS/F

6) Turning on a PC without any HS/F installed.

Luckily I've been alright in most cases!! No doubt I have more to follow!
---

I was carrying a 19" CRT monitor to my car, and tripped on the sidewalk, and fell forward, off the curb, and fell directly onto the monitor, full force, with my chest! Man! My chest and ribs HURT for a week!
The monitor case was cracked (a slight cosmetic injury). After 15 minutes laying there, I finally got up, I threw the monitor into a dumpster and called it quits. I had 4 more just like it. It was probably still good, but I had had enough of that one!
After that, I buy flat panels now!!!!!!!!
"Common sense is not so common." - Voltaire
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37610
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

Back in the AT days when power connectors still were in two pieces, it was perfectly possible to put them in the wrong way 'round. The same as putting an ATX power connector upside down. When you need to use more force than you're used to, check again if it's supposed to go in that way in the first place...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
User avatar
jimmy-j
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Posts: 3529
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 3:40 pm
Location: U.K.

Post by jimmy-j »

So much for location keys in memory, I just ruined half of a two gig ddr2 1200MHz kit, What was most annoying was that the locking tabs closed up no problem.
User avatar
Var
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 9:07 am

Post by Var »

My tuppence: Check that the motherboard fits the case standoffs before you install the cpu and fit the cpu cooler.

Saves you having to sit the whole shebang in a corner for two weeks, protecting it from dust, while you get a new case part with the correct standoff placement.
[color=#0099FF]SOUND=- SB X-Fi Fatal1ty[/color]
[color=blue]CPU=- Intel Q6600 (SLACR)[/color]
[color=#0099FF]VIDEO=- BFG 8800 GTX OC2[/color]
[color=blue]PSU=- Enermax Galaxy 1000W[/color]
[color=#0099FF]MOBO=- Asus Maximus Extreme[/color]
[color=blue]OPSYS=- Vista x64; Gentoo Linux[/color]
[color=#0099FF]CASE=- Coolermaster Stacker 832[/color]
[color=blue]COOLER=- Thermalright 120 eXtreme[/color]
[color=#0099FF]RAM=- OCZ ReaperX DDR3 4Gb (2x2Gb)[/color]
DeathGhost
Initiate
Initiate
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 7:29 pm

Post by DeathGhost »

Well, I'm a newbie and did a newbie mistake. As the very first post was, it was my first build, and had put too many of them screws into the MoBo tray and installed the MoBo, forgetting about the extras. Had a headache for two days trying to figure out WHY the darn thing wouldn't work.

Read on here, first post, and then remembered what i did. tore it all apart and fixed it. It worked! Didn't fry the board either amazingly!
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37610
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by evasive »

I guess when PS/2 ports are color-coded on a board it is done for a reason :oops: And there I was thinking I **wed up the job of recapping it, but not so 8)
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
User avatar
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they
Contact:

Post by AmEv »

Try putting the floppy connetor in incorrectly...
Not upside-down, but off to one side.
I did it unintentionally.

When I did, smoke started spewing out. :oops:
Thankfully, it only charred the power connector. Able to cut it off with utility knife. MB and PS are in same condition other than the fact. :)
User avatar
AmEv
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 654
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 4:53 pm
Location: Wanting to be at these forums, but not as active as they
Contact:

Post by AmEv »

Floppy drive still works.

Also, when working on laptops, make sure:

A) You keep track of ALL the screws.

B) Use the right tools.

C) Do not leave parts lying around. Good reason:
1) LCD screens can be stepped on (and that's with both an old laptop and it fully put toghether
2) Your younger siblings can make them fun projectiles.

D) Use the right power suppply. Fried laptop C1 that way.
fussnfeathers
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 3147
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Right behind you
Contact:

Post by fussnfeathers »

Didn't see this posted, so I thought it worth a mention.

It IS possible to plug a FireWire cable in upside down. I did it, with very little effort, and blew one port on my brandie-spankin'-new M-Audio ProFire 2626 :( Fortunately, they replaced the unit with no questions asked, but it was a very sad moment when I realized what I'd done.
Faster than the speed of snot

Two wrongs don't make it right, but I sleep pretty good at night
User avatar
rascard2007
Black Belt
Black Belt
Posts: 725
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:47 am
Location: Havana, Cuba

Post by rascard2007 »

Well, tryiong to troubleshoot a friends computer I was testing the PSU voltages with a multimeter, but I didn´t disconect the HDD molex plug. I made an instant short circuit and some chip in the controller card of the HDD burn down with an small orange flame like a birthday candle.

Fortunatelly I had an HDD of the exact model plenty of bad sectors and replaced the burned controller card with the other one. It works perfectly and the HDD is still working.

BTW I never told my friend what happen!!!
"I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college"
-Wrapped Around Your Fingers-
-The Police-
Post Reply