Pentium III 100 vs. 133

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Post Reply
ghwELLES
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 5:12 pm

Pentium III 100 vs. 133

Post by ghwELLES »

Are the Pentium III's with the 133Mhz system bus speed for one slot systems backwards compatible with Pentium III's with 100MHZ system bus speeds?

In other words, can I put a Pentium III 800 with a 133 system bus speed and a 256K onboard Cache in a system that originally came with a Pentium III 450 with a 100 system speed bus and an off chip 550K cache?
~Rob
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:26 pm
Location: Norwich, UK
Contact:

Post by ~Rob »

Depends on the board. Look for a jumper on the board (possibly near the Slot but no guarantees) that says 100/133 or in the bios but I doubt it with these boards.

If you can, post the motherboard you have
[img]http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y83/RobPope/sigmove.gif[/img]
[b]Jocuri cu impuscaturi[/b] si alte genuri, pentru toate varstele doar pe [url=http://smarturl.it/jocuri]acest link[/url] - distractie si amuzament garantat!
ghwELLES
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 5:12 pm

Post by ghwELLES »

Board is a Biostar M6TBA which was made before 133's so no jumper I am afraid.

the BIOS patch allows up to 800MHZ processors but I do not know if it will handle the 133 bus.
~Rob
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree
Posts: 4941
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2003 8:26 pm
Location: Norwich, UK
Contact:

Post by ~Rob »

Sorry, it is 100x8.

There is a list of jumpers here:
http://www.biostar.com.tw/support/jumper/archives.php3

Hope this helps
[img]http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y83/RobPope/sigmove.gif[/img]
[b]Jocuri cu impuscaturi[/b] si alte genuri, pentru toate varstele doar pe [url=http://smarturl.it/jocuri]acest link[/url] - distractie si amuzament garantat!
inteljunky
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
Posts: 289
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 12:32 am
Location: Somewhere near the internet

Post by inteljunky »

ghwELLES wrote:Board is a Biostar M6TBA which was made before 133's so no jumper I am afraid.

the BIOS patch allows up to 800MHZ processors but I do not know if it will handle the 133 bus.
if it is an 800EB watch out! cause they changed the voltage, and i think the micron size, so the board might not support it even with the bios update.

EDIT: the 450 was .25 micron process... the 800EB was a .18 micron and 2V to 1.7V respectivly
Twisty
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
Posts: 1970
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 1:01 am
Location: UK / Singapore

Post by Twisty »

I don't know about your particular motherboard, and don't have time to read up on it at the moment but it uses a BX chipset IIRC.

The BX chipset is solid and overclocks to 133 no problem. Years ago I read a Tom's hardware review that showed very good benchmarking results for the BX chipset running at 133Mhz. I run an 833EB on a BX chipset board. The CPU core voltage was not supported by the board but I meddled with the Vid pins on the CPU to run it slightly overvolted, which is a bonus for overclocking :)
I have now left the Building :tongue8:
Post Reply