The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Nov 14, 2019 6:41 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 2:54 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17184
Location: England
It should work out of the 'box' as it is an Atheros chipset and they are generally supported (Broadcom is a different matter). If you can use the latest distro, it will have updated firmware. The only let down on old laptops is the screen resolution (I have some limited to 1024 x 768, works, but looks chunky!).

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:19 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37568
Location: Netherlands
I see some issues reported but most of them can be solved with resetting bios to defaults, so if it's initially not working properly, there is the first workaround.

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 13, 2019 9:15 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Mr T wrote:
It should work out of the 'box' as it is an Atheros chipset and they are generally supported (Broadcom is a different matter). If you can use the latest distro, it will have updated firmware. The only let down on old laptops is the screen resolution (I have some limited to 1024 x 768, works, but looks chunky!).


It took a couple tries to get the laptop to boot, so I could boot from the Linux DVD. But I got the disc to boot and install. :) Once it installed I checked the internet, and it worked fine. The only minor issue is adjusting the screen resolution to
fit the laptop. When I need to display a video from my laptop on my HDTV, I need to select mirror laptop. With Vista, it did that automatically. :roll: Not a big problem, as long as the laptop boots without issues. :)

Peppermint 10 is nice clean, and simple install. It is fine for what I want on this laptop.

Thx, for the help getting this sorted out.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], MegaIndex.ru [Crawler] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group