Laptop crashed, tried reboot, wont start. [SOLVED]

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

User avatar
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
Posts: 17191
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: Laptop crashed, tried reboot, wont start.

Post by Mr T »

It should work out of the 'box' as it is an Atheros chipset and they are generally supported (Broadcom is a different matter). If you can use the latest distro, it will have updated firmware. The only let down on old laptops is the screen resolution (I have some limited to 1024 x 768, works, but looks chunky!).
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37623
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Laptop crashed, tried reboot, wont start.

Post by evasive »

I see some issues reported but most of them can be solved with resetting bios to defaults, so if it's initially not working properly, there is the first workaround.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
BIGMAN131307
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2361
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Capital District Area, NY

Re: Laptop crashed, tried reboot, wont start.

Post by BIGMAN131307 »

Mr T wrote:It should work out of the 'box' as it is an Atheros chipset and they are generally supported (Broadcom is a different matter). If you can use the latest distro, it will have updated firmware. The only let down on old laptops is the screen resolution (I have some limited to 1024 x 768, works, but looks chunky!).
It took a couple tries to get the laptop to boot, so I could boot from the Linux DVD. But I got the disc to boot and install. :) Once it installed I checked the internet, and it worked fine. The only minor issue is adjusting the screen resolution to
fit the laptop. When I need to display a video from my laptop on my HDTV, I need to select mirror laptop. With Vista, it did that automatically. :roll: Not a big problem, as long as the laptop boots without issues. :)

Peppermint 10 is nice clean, and simple install. It is fine for what I want on this laptop.

Thx, for the help getting this sorted out.
Image
Post Reply