The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Nov 17, 2019 10:32 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:11 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 4393
Location: Manila, Philippines
Hi Guys,

It's been a long time since I posted here. Anyway, I recently purchased a new CPU/Motherboard/RAM combo, below are the specs of my current machine:

AMD Ryzen 2200G

MSI B450M Mortar

Sapphire Radeon R9 380

2x8GB Kingston Hyper-X DDR CL2400

Gigabyte 800W PSU

WD SSD Green 250GB



I'll try to be as detailed as possible. My Sapphire video card came from an old PC which has an AMD A10 and MSI motherboard as well. HDMI audio is working on the A10 but when I upgraded the moterboard/cpu with the ones mentioned above, the HDMI audio is not working on the video card and for some reason when I was installing the AMD drivers (19.5.x and later 19.7.x) the HDMI drivers is not listed during the custom install. Below is what I have done so far



1) Fresh install of Windows 10 Professional

2) Updated Windows 10 with the latest patches

3) Installed AMD 19.7.x drivers; no HDMI listed

4) Booted to Safe mode and ran DDU

5) Installed AMD 19.5.x drivers; still the same results with HDMI not listed

6) Performed the same steps and installed 19.4.x drivers but still got the same results

7) Updated the motherboard BIOS to the latest version and performed another clean install of Windows 10 Pro

8) Performed the same steps above but HDMI audio is still not working

HDMI Audio from the video card was not listed on the Sound Panel and even on Device Manager including disabled devices.

For testing purposes, I installed my Sapphire VC back on the old A10/MSI PC and the HDMI audio was working with the 19.5.x drivers.


Any ideas as to how to fix this? Any inputs will be greatly appreciated



Thank you

_________________
Image
Join the Motherboards.org Folding Team 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:20 am 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 4393
Location: Manila, Philippines
I am now able to resolve this issue, had to downgrade the BIOS from the one that shipped with it.

_________________
Image
Join the Motherboards.org Folding Team 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 18, 2019 10:06 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37570
Location: Netherlands
Hang on, so the newer bios that shipped with the board had a bug preventing the HDMI audio from working?

Is anything documented anywhere about this?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:21 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 4th Degree
Black Belt 4th Degree

Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2004 3:29 am
Posts: 4393
Location: Manila, Philippines
evasive wrote:
Hang on, so the newer bios that shipped with the board had a bug preventing the HDMI audio from working?

Is anything documented anywhere about this?


Yes, AMD seems to have issues with the Ryzen cpus. My mobo is a MSI B450M Morta that shipped with the BIOS 7B89v16, link below:

https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450M-MORTAR

I found this thread from MSI Forums where some folks are encountering the same problems that I have with the HDMI audio. They have this tool where you can downgrade your BIOS, I downgraded mine to 7B89v14 and the HDMI audio from my Sapphire R9 380 worked. Below is the thread for reference:

https://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=302638.0

Other motherboard brands are also affected by this like Gigabyte and Asus, most users downgrade their BIOS as well to fix this issue.

_________________
Image
Join the Motherboards.org Folding Team 33258


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2019 8:07 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2760
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
Jeez...that's just lazy from AMD. :roll:

-R

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group