Gigabyte AMD based MB & bootable programs not loading

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

videobruce
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 490
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Location: NY State

Re: Gigabyte AMD based MB & bootable programs not loading

Post by videobruce »

Again, that Seagate program is a USB application. But, I'll try a regular DVD drive on those other programs to see. I don't know why a drive would mater. :?
[b]When not in use, turn off the juice.[/b]
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill
User avatar
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
Posts: 37629
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Gigabyte AMD based MB & bootable programs not loading

Post by evasive »

I don't know either but over the years I have seen more cases of changing out hardware with older versions/models solving software problems. Let us know how you go.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
videobruce
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
Posts: 490
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Location: NY State

Re: Gigabyte AMD based MB & bootable programs not loading

Post by videobruce »

After I thought about it, some of those programs use to work ( added notes on the discs), recently I did swapped both DVD drives for BluRay. :o
I'll post back, I'm in the middle of xfering a ton of DVD's to mp4's.
[b]When not in use, turn off the juice.[/b]
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Posts: 2760
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin

Re: Gigabyte AMD based MB & bootable programs not loading

Post by Roach412 »

Honestly, I hope it is the drive - it's a simple fix, but it's beyond me why it makes a difference. I ended up buying another ultra-cheap dvd read-only drive and that one works perfectly, but the nicer/newer dvdr wouldn't.

-R
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Post Reply