Page 1 of 1

RAM issue, 8GB out of 32GB showing; FIXED/RESOLVED

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 1:23 pm
by joe_devore
I am having issues with the RAM I bought...
First off its identical to what I already have installed..
I bought another 16GB (2x8GB) dual-channel kit... to boost my PC to 32GB, my motherboards max...

I have a ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0 AND BIOS r2901 (2016), max RAM 32GB...

RAM = https://www.ebay.com/itm/332457582881
original bought from Amazon.com June 2016

after install...
I started it up and BIOS started saying there is only 8GB of RAM... out of the 32GB
it should have.. so defective memory? so to test that I removed the new RAM I bought from you and DAMN IT! its now showing ONLY 8GB of RAM

The BIOS DID detect all 4 RAM slots were FILLED when I had 4 in bought said all 8GB ..
WHY?! now even with my original 16GB still installed like before slot 1 and 3 for DUAL-Channel mode..
its not working right now.. only 8GB of 16GB
WHICH worked just fine before..
why?! :(


any help would be appreciated...

Re: RAM issue, 8GB out of 32GB showing :(

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:41 am
by Mr T
Switch off PC, remove power socket from mains, press and hold the power button in, release, take side off case, remove CMOS battery for a good few minutes. Replace CMOS battery, put PC back together, making sure the RAM is identical and power the machine back up. A good BIOS reset may resolve. Another thing to try is to knock the RAM timings back manually to a slower speed, that works sometimes as well..

Re: RAM issue, 8GB out of 32GB showing :(

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 9:14 am
by joe_devore
ok will try out soon..

Re: RAM issue, 8GB out of 32GB showing :(

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:14 am
by joe_devore
OK! the BIOS reset via the
- RTC CLEAR Jumper pins WORKED!!! RAM is NOW at 32GB!!
ok this is done
thx.

Re: RAM issue, 8GB out of 32GB showing; FIXED/RESOLVED

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:41 am
by Roach412
did you keep your old battery or replace it (how old is it also)?

just more for curiosity I guess - but, if not replaced I would be wary of another episode reoccurring.

-R

Re: RAM issue, 8GB out of 32GB showing; FIXED/RESOLVED

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:55 am
by joe_devore
I just built it June 2016... so its still new..
the motherboard design is 2014...

I KEEPED it for now... that was not the issue..