The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 7:31 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 26, 2017 2:51 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
I hope this is the right place to ask this. here is the situation;

Two PC' s
one a newer tower running Win 7, the other a older laptop running XP Pro
Wired connection thru a router and a 'switch' with no special priorities or restrictions to bandwidth. Both static IP's (if that matters)

The file is a mp4 around 100MB that I chose specifically to test 50' CAT5e jumper cables before I 'fish' them. I used the "move" function from and to the same partitions on both PC's. All apples to apples.

Using the laptop as the control; from that to the tower speed is fairly steady at 75 Mbps
returning the file, speed is between around 20 to 55 Mbs

Now, the same test, but from the tower; transferring the file from the tower to the Laptop speed varies from 66 to 95 Mbps,
returning the file from the Laptop back to the tower speed is 95 Mbps with a couple drops to 65 Mbps.

Ok, why is the speed far faster using the tower as the control station than the laptop transferring the exact same file, the exact same way???

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:20 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17144
Location: England
Are they the same brand/chipset on the NICs? If they are, are they set up identically within the driver? Are the LAN cables identical (length, make etc)? So many variables on a LAN, nailing speed issues down is not that easy, especially if the cable is long. I set them up and if it works, it works, speed is not an issue, unless you are moving massive files (2Gb plus) or streaming and getting a lot of buffering..

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 6:00 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
Too add to the OP that was left out (sorry about that);
I use BitMeter as a data transfer/Internet monitor tool (it's very similar to DU Meter), I ignore that lame M$ transfer window useless timer.
No active A/V programs running.

Both cards are gigabyte. Win7 is 64 bit, XP Pro sp3 is 32 bit (I forget to add)
Both HDD's are 7200rpm (the laptop does not have the original HDD)

To possibly sum this us clearer;
File X transfer from A to B using A as the controller
File X transfer back from B to A using A as the controller
then;
File X transfer from A to B using B as the controller,
File X transfer back from B to A using B as the controller
The ONLY differences are the direction and which PC initiated the command.

Both PC's are AMD based,
Tower has a AMDFX-8350 & a AMD 970A chipset MB. The NIC is a Realtek PCIe GBE. The specific HDD that has the file is a Hitachi 7200rpm HUA723020. (The O/S is on a SSD). Memory is 8GB
Laptop has a AMD Turion II M600 (the specs doesn't show the MB chipset) The NIC is a Marvell 88E8072. The (only) HDD is a 7200rpm WD WD5000BPKX. Memory is 2GB

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 8:38 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Both systems have the same USB class, type 2, or one has a USB class 3?
Should be no problem for USB 3 class to be backward compatible to USB 2, but not forward compatible from USB 2.
No other activity on the hub or switch with other systems? (Possible cross-talk or minor error corrections.)
Both hard drives have the same write-behind cache level?

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 27, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
USB??
The HP Probook 6545b Laptop only has USB2. The Tower has USB3.

It's the huge variance doing one of the four versions of transfer that bugs me. between as low as 11Mbps to 95Mbps vs a almost steady 95Mbps at the other extreme.

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 5:48 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17144
Location: England
Have you another XP machine you can use and transfer the file to that one and see what transfer speeds you get?

This issue has kind of plagued me as I use Linux a lot. When I transfer large files from a Linux machine to my Linux NAS's the speed is a generally constant 60~80Mbps (Gigabit LAN, cat6 cabling etc). Windows 10 it drops to around ~11Mbps, if I am lucky, it may hit 25Mbps. I have read up on this and from a windows 10 Forum:

Quote:
Hi all,

This issue is from when they made windows xp, Microsoft did think lets make a bandwidth reservation, what is a registry setting.
If you have 1Gb network throughput, what is 100% there would be 15% till 20% reserved for Voip, error and other stuff (this is agreed over the whole world).
So if I have large data transfers from my windows 10 computer to my NAS (openmediavault, unix/ Linux, which don't care if I use my hardware full potential) and visa versa, I will get a transfer speed of around the 84MB a 86MB, which is around 84% usage of my 1Gb network (16% is for Voip and stuff).

If I do the same thing between two windows machines is the datatransfer only 30MB max.
Microsoft thought lets reserve 60% of the bandwidth and use only 40%, now if you have 1Gb network (100%) and only use 40% which is to be handled as 100%, minus the 15% till20% reserved for voip and error, you will get 25MB to 30MB datatransfer. then it should be the case that if we have 2 datatransfers from one machine to 2 different machines, the transferrate should be both around the 25MB a 30MB, but this is in best case.

Within windows7 can this problem be resolved, by Disable Bandwidth Limit...
I used for this GPEDIT.msc and then within computer Configuration, Administrative Templates, Network, QoS Packet Scheduler.
Double-click on Limit reservable bandwidth.
And disable it.
IMPORTAND NOTE: this has to be done on all windows machines. and watch out with the use of Gpedit.msc


Windows Forum...

It looks like it is down to a Windows bandwidth management issue....

Don't even get me started on USB3 file transfer on Windows... :x

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Dec 28, 2017 8:52 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2743
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
Shouldn't that only impact machines/connections using QoS? You can disable that in network settings directly pretty simple enough.

-R

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:43 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 37464
Location: Netherlands
I am not exactly sure what you are using for the file transfer. Simply copy from windows explorer?

Both systems use the same brand/version of antivirus? Same settings?

What does the CPU usage look like when transferring files?

_________________
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:40 am 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 476
Location: Buffalo NY
Quote:
The file is a mp4 around 100MB
Yes, using Explorer. Would a 3rd party version make a difference?
No active A/V.
I didn't check CPU usage.

I did update the NIC drivers in the Tower that may have improved things somewhat. I did the same in the Laptop, but that was questionable due to the age and the questionable source. That didn't seem to make any difference.

_________________
When not in use, turn off the juice.
Think of someone else instead of just yourself. There is far more to it than your utility bill


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group