The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:12 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:15 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Check with Task Manager as to what applications are active even if not in use. Could be one is 'captive' by some other program.
You don't need other programs constantly checking for updates. Once or twice daily is more than sufficient, even for antivirus programs. Only if you have a server setup, would it be proper to update every few hours.
Only one browser should be set as default. Check each browser as to latest version, from the 'tools' tab or the 'about/options' tab. IE may need a manual input for updates.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 10:08 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17144
Location: England
I think your CPU may be faulty. Try a few burn in tests and see how they perform (like Prime95) - browsers tend to use a lot of RAM and processing power...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 5:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
There is nothing showing in the task manager other than Comodo, malwarebytes tray application and the browser FF Nothing unusual in the hijack log then? Is there a free program to test the CPU? I have noticed that IE will tell me the page I am on is not responding will ask to close the page then will open back to that page and it will respond again for a while. In FF when it doesn't respond I have to open a new tab ... copy the address from the other page that no longer responds and page it in the new tab, then it will respond again. I have a much more difficult time at youtube. I it will stop responding frequently and I have to follow the procedure of closing and opening tabs several times before it will play the video.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:11 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17144
Location: England
Looks like a memory leakage issue - bear in mind the RAM controller is on the CPU and not the chip set. If you experienced this issue from day one on another motherboard, motherboard has been changed, windows reinstalled and the same issue crops up, I would say CPU.. Easy way to check is to beg/borrow or buy another CPU to test with (if you buy, get a cheapo Celeron from Ebay and you will be surprised how powerful Celerons are)..

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:35 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I'll have to dig out an old program I have that will test the CPU it takes several hours to run ... no way can I afford a new CPU now ... not as fast as the one I have which is needed to run my Flight Sim programs.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:47 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
I ran a program call hot cpu tester. Checks out most of the hardware. There were no errors including the CPU.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:09 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17144
Location: England
Download openhradwaremonitor, install it and run it.

Download Prime95. Open it up and don't run it.

Open up a browser, Firefox is good as it is very resource hungry.

See what temps your CPU gets up to while running a Youtube video - should go up to about 50 deg C or there a bouts.

Then start Prime95 running and see what happens to the CPU temps and if the Youtube video crashes or stutters..

Edit:

Also open up Tak Manager and see what resources are being used...

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:15 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
With the browser off .... the cpu temps range from 57 to 61C ... with FF running it's 66C .... with the stress test from prime the temp shoot to 100C. With the test off I could not get the youtube video to play ... the browser stops responding in FF. I can do it with IE I think. Is there a certain period you are suppose to run prime?

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:30 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Posts: 918
Location: The Great State of Ohio
Did the stress test with IE playing youtube video ... it continued to play. But I still having problems with both browsers not responding often where I have to keep closing and reopening them, or reloading or opening a new tab and closing the tab that won't respond.

_________________
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:24 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Could be a massive load of "tattle" and "tracker" cookies from worthless sites. The security features on browser programs today don't really block those third-party cookies. Sending the bits of your browsing habits to them and getting feedback ads wastes precious data cycles.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group