The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 3:12 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Intel Quick Sync Video
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:42 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:36 pm
Posts: 2
My CPU supports intel quick sync video. My boardboard diagram shows that the CPU is connected directly to the hdmi port but goes through the chipset to connect to d-sub. My monitor is connected to d-sub and I cannot get intel quick sync to work. Do I need to connect my monitor to the HDMI port to get Intel quick sync video to work?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:15 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
HDMI is similar to USB use, with two-way data links. The D-sub (for VGA) is only one way, but does have device ID feedback to the system. The CPU itself cannot produce the desired video data without a rendering interface, found in the North bridge chipset or in another dedicated chipset.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:06 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:36 pm
Posts: 2
Your conclusion is that it should work. What will prevent it? Drivers? BIOS setting? Something else?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:58 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
A better description of your system would be good, for better diagnosis and suggestions.
Brand, model, CPU speed, memory, other features and age of the system.
What was posted is general practice for almost all systems.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:00 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2760
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
you may need to make sure the onboard video is enabled in the BIOS. check the mainboard manual(if you can find it) or just poke around in the BIOS until you find something along the lines of Internal Graphics or Primary Display or Muli-Monitor...iGPU...

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group