The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Dec 13, 2019 1:41 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:05 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:49 am
Posts: 1
Hi people.

I want to add a M2 hard disk to my MoBo but my BIOS won't detected.

I purchase a PCIe 16x adapter for my M2, my BIOS won't show my new drive.

I had update the BIOS but same thing.

I cannot see my new HD.

I try changing some settings in my BIOS to.

Any tip?

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 8:26 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Is the hard drive capacity (cylinders, heads, sectors) within the BIOS limits? If a PATA or IDE drive, are any jumpers set properly? And if using an 80-wire data ribbon, on the proper header?
For a SATA drive, if a class 3, it may not be recognized on a class 2 or class 1 system. Might be a jumper on the drive to revert to an older class.
https://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/deta ... d-sata-iii

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 2:28 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17186
Location: England
The BIOS won't see it as it is not technically a hrad drive attached to the SATA ports. Is it seen in the operating system? Do you want to install an operating system to it?

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3675
Location: Washington D.C.
on the advanced tab, under pch storage configuration... anything in there?
seems this mobo outa be new enough to be able to see a pcie m2 device in the bios, but maybe not since it's not embedded onto the mobo through native connector.

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group