Intel Quick Sync Video

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Intel Quick Sync Video

Postby SquirrellyHurley » Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:42 pm

My CPU supports intel quick sync video. My boardboard diagram shows that the CPU is connected directly to the hdmi port but goes through the chipset to connect to d-sub. My monitor is connected to d-sub and I cannot get intel quick sync to work. Do I need to connect my monitor to the HDMI port to get Intel quick sync video to work?
SquirrellyHurley
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:36 pm

Re: Intel Quick Sync Video

Postby Karlsweldt » Mon Jul 10, 2017 7:15 am

HDMI is similar to USB use, with two-way data links. The D-sub (for VGA) is only one way, but does have device ID feedback to the system. The CPU itself cannot produce the desired video data without a rendering interface, found in the North bridge chipset or in another dedicated chipset.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Intel Quick Sync Video

Postby SquirrellyHurley » Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:06 am

Your conclusion is that it should work. What will prevent it? Drivers? BIOS setting? Something else?
SquirrellyHurley
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:36 pm

Re: Intel Quick Sync Video

Postby Karlsweldt » Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:58 am

A better description of your system would be good, for better diagnosis and suggestions.
Brand, model, CPU speed, memory, other features and age of the system.
What was posted is general practice for almost all systems.
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!
Karlsweldt
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 20690
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Location: 07438

Re: Intel Quick Sync Video

Postby Roach412 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 11:00 am

you may need to make sure the onboard video is enabled in the BIOS. check the mainboard manual(if you can find it) or just poke around in the BIOS until you find something along the lines of Internal Graphics or Primary Display or Muli-Monitor...iGPU...

-Roach
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Roach412
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lindex [Bot] and 4 guests