No Power Main Computer ... No Reason Why

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

No Power Main Computer ... No Reason Why

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Jan 14, 2017 9:55 am

The computer was working fine (my i7 computer). I shut it down to hook up a new TV to be used as a monitor for my flight sim. I disconnect the power to the computer ... removed the old monitors ... hooked up the new TV ... check to see that it worked for stations it did. When to boot up the computer ... NOTHING! No Power!!! Checked the UPS ... it is working. Replace the PS with a known working PS ... NOTHING ... checked the CMOS battery ...tested good. Replace the power cord ... NOTHING. Tried to short the power terminals on the mobo ... NOTHING!!! This should NOT be happening. I merely hooked up a new monitor. I should not be having this problem. Any ideas??? :roll: PDT_Armataz_01_19
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio

Re: No Power Main Computer ... No Reason Why

Postby Mr T » Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:32 am

I hope you haven't done what I have in the past and not pushed the power cable fully home, or left the on/off rocker switch on the PSU in the off position...
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17134
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: No Power Main Computer ... No Reason Why

Postby OneSpirit » Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:57 am

It wasn't that far off Mr. T .... While I was reinstalling the PS I thought might have been bad I notice the cpu fan was loose ... how on earth it got that way is beyond me, but once I lock the screw back in place it booted up. :twisted:
Main Rig_Intel i7 4770k@3.50
ECS H87H3-WM Ver1
16Gb DDR3 1600
Evga GTX 1050Ti GPU
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
Corsair CX750M
Win7 Ultimate x64
Rig2_AMD FX8120
GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 Mobo
4Gb DDR3 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 550TI
Seagate 1TB SATA 7200RPM
WD100000 SATA 7200RPM
Rosewill M650
Win7 64
OneSpirit
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2002 1:01 am
Location: The Great State of Ohio


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest