The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 5:12 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:20 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
SSD type drives don't need a few seconds of spin-up before sending an ID to the POST process, and may be missed.
Likely something like the BIOS not truly recognizing an SSD drive. If there is an AHCI feature, enable it and see if that helps.
Possibly there is a capacitor that is on the verge of going bad, but not showing signs. Any that have domed tops or lean excessively or have leakage are bad. But those signs are the final stage. Check the device cards too, also the PSU. We are not yet free from that 'bad caps' plague.
Memory must be in compliance to what the mobo manufacturer recommends. Timings are critical with high bus speed. Does not need to be the same brand recommended, as long as timings are identical or better.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:39 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 2:41 am
Posts: 756
Location: USA
It's Workstation so every application i tried to test SSD filed, it got some kind of protection. Any recommendation in this case?
Memory is from factory original and caps are just fine, there 're mostly new generation caps installed.
Here's the picture.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/GENUINE-DELL-PR ... SwFdtX0gUD


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 4:00 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Does the drive ID itself to the BIOS on start up? The SATA port "0" is considered the dedicated primary.
Read the BIOS page where hard drives and such are listed. If not listed, could be a controller problem.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 18, 2016 5:39 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 2:41 am
Posts: 756
Location: USA
BIOS shows up SSD and it's on first line.
So i installed regular HDD WD Raptor 150 GB and all problems dissipated, so it's SSD.
Will try it at regular PC to find out the real problem.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 19, 2016 5:59 am 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
While a drive may ID itself properly to the BIOS, the BIOS itself may not recognize the proper status of the drive.
Depends on the inception date of the BIOS. If before the SSD type drives, may be a reason.. or beyond the cylinder limit of the BIOS. Perhaps a BIOS update may be the cure?
But good the system is working properly again.

_________________
F@H.. to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YandexBot [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group