Page 1 of 1

Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 5:33 am
by nipindra
Hi,

I am using a old comp with this motherboard
http://www.motherboards.org/mobot/mothe ... 7191%2529/

I tried looking around MSI website but couldnt find much details about the CPU list I could upgrade too.

Please if anyone can point me to the right direction.

Thank you.
Nipin.

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2015 7:00 am
by Karlsweldt
Welcome to Motherboards org.
CPU compatibility depends on BIOS date and version. Best to go with what the manufacturer recommends, from their QVL listing (qualified vendor list).
http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/mb-MSI/RS482 ... 91%29.html

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2015 12:46 pm
by bdub
on socket 939 there was a 4800+ cpu which was a dual core at 2.4 ghz and two 1MB l2 caches. it was also possible to run some "opteron" branded processors on there, but it hink they were mostly the same processors but just branded differently because of their overclock ability.
here's a list...
http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket%20939.html

I have a 4400+ socket 939 cpu (the step down from 4800+) running in an msi motherboard as a secondary system that still works to this day. that system takes a beating and keeps on ticking.

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:15 am
by nipindra
bdub wrote:on socket 939 there was a 4800+ cpu which was a dual core at 2.4 ghz and two 1MB l2 caches. it was also possible to run some "opteron" branded processors on there, but it hink they were mostly the same processors but just branded differently because of their overclock ability.
here's a list...
http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket%20939.html

I have a 4400+ socket 939 cpu (the step down from 4800+) running in an msi motherboard as a secondary system that still works to this day. that system takes a beating and keeps on ticking.


thank you Karlsweldt & bdub for your response

I have seen some AMD Athlon 64 x2 4800+....which are AM2 socket....do you think they made "AMD Athlon 64 x2 4800+" same processor for 939 socket and AM2 socket?

Or

Are they Same??

Edit: Sorry, deleted your duplicate post.. Karlsweldt.

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 3:27 pm
by Karlsweldt
There is a different pin count between those two socket types, AM2 and 939.. ONE PIN difference.
AM2 has 940 pins. Only the specific CPU type for the specific socket.
The motherboard manufacturer has a QVL that denotes what CPU will be compatible to the specific socket, along with BIOS date and version.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/pro ... 69-11.html

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2015 7:06 pm
by nipindra
Karlsweldt wrote:There is a different pin count between those two socket types, AM2 and 939.. ONE PIN difference.
AM2 has 940 pins. Only the specific CPU type for the specific socket.
The motherboard manufacturer has a QVL that denotes what CPU will be compatible to the specific socket, along with BIOS date and version.
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/pro ... 69-11.html



Quick questions:

The first link you suggested "http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket%20939.html" says one of the Supported processors in the list is "Athlon 64 X2 (2 GHz - 2.4 GHz, or 3800+ - 4800+)"

Ok I clicked on "Athlon 64 X2 (2 GHz - 2.4 GHz, or 3800+ - 4800+)" link to this page
"http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K8/TYPE-Athlon%2064%20X2.html" which has a table below list under "» Virtualization" 939 socket

I am a little confused does Athlon 64 X2 has 2 type of socket 939 and AM2??

As, I was searching on ebay/amazon for "AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+" and saw there were 2 CPU with the same name but one had 939 socket and the other AM2 socket. What does this mean??

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:52 am
by Karlsweldt
Just as Intel® has a different socket type for each processor class, so too does Advanced Micro Devices®.
Pin count and grid layout are different in each socket type. No way can a CPU be put into the wrong socket without damage.
With any motherboard socket design, the BIOS date and version determines which CPU can be compatible. An older BIOS version may not recognize newer CPU types.
That link to Tom's Hardware about the AMD socket types notes compatibility. And what is not compatible.

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:46 pm
by evasive
https://www.msi.com/product/motherboard ... o-overview

Indeed, not much to find. The last BIOS update gave a CPU ID update, I will need to whip out the AMI toolbox to disect it and see if I can find any codes that are useful.

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:11 pm
by nipindra
sry about the later response....But, thank you both for the replys :)

Re: Need to know what is the highest cpu I can use

PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:16 am
by evasive
microcode patches
0x80000048 for cpuid 48
0x8000004a for cpuid 4a
0x80000150 for cpuid 150
0x80000210 for cpuid 210

are in there. still in the process of decoding what is in them unless someone else has a table somewhere and can translate this to actual models on socket 939.