The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Fri Sep 18, 2020 3:46 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:15 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Capital District Area, NY
evasive wrote:
It looks like rooting it and then loading a basically unsupported Android release is your only option to make it more usable. I'm not sure if the Amazon App Store has got what you are looking for....


Roach412 wrote:
i would root it and load a new ROM on it...which essentially would make it "appear" as though it's a different device and would allow you to update/install basically whatever you wanted.

i rooted an old phone of mine and loaded a bunch of different ROMs on it - was very easy actually.

this might apply to you:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=2066041

-Roach


8O :-| I'm new to all this Apps, ROMs, Android stuff. It may be "easy", it may take more effort than this thing is worth to do it right.

I would hate to make any changes that would completely ruin this thing. It took me a while just to get this to see my network.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 8:08 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree

Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:33 pm
Posts: 2760
Location: Milwaukee - Wisconsin
while, yes...you could brick it - there's obviously a number of people that have been successful in making changes to those types of tablets.

a ROM is basically just the OS - it's read-only and is read at the boot up of the device to set it's configuration and load services/programs/etc. Essentially, you're just running a different software setup on the existing hardware - as long as it's remotely compatible, you'd be able to reset it back to the original configuration.

a new ROM can breathe fresh life into old hardware - that's what i did with my old HTC phone. HTC's were extremely bogged down with their pre-installed software, once i removed it and set up a new ROM it was extremely fast (and able to install things which weren't installable before). which gave me a new use for it.

-Roach

_________________
Lian Li Lancool First Knight Series PC-K59W
Intel Core i7-960 Bloomfield 3.2GHz
EVGA X58 FTW3 132-GT-E768-TR
EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 FTW GAMING ACX 3.0
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB)
Crucial M4 128gb SATAIII SSD x2
Crucial M4 256gb SATAIII SSD
OCZ Saber 1000 960GB Enterprise SSD
Corsair Professional Series HX850 PSU
Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 27" w/drop ceiling mount
Logitech G930 7.1 Headset
DBPOWER RGB LED Keyboard
Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 3:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
I had a Nook Color I was able to put Android on, and it worked very well. Actually gained Bluetooth, which I didn't have before. The "XDA" link is definitely a good place to go. I used the info and forums to do the Nook.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 9:24 am 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Roach412 wrote:
while, yes...you could brick it - there's obviously a number of people that have been successful in making changes to those types of tablets.

a ROM is basically just the OS - it's read-only and is read at the boot up of the device to set it's configuration and load services/programs/etc. Essentially, you're just running a different software setup on the existing hardware - as long as it's remotely compatible, you'd be able to reset it back to the original configuration.

a new ROM can breathe fresh life into old hardware - that's what i did with my old HTC phone. HTC's were extremely bogged down with their pre-installed software, once i removed it and set up a new ROM it was extremely fast (and able to install things which weren't installable before). which gave me a new use for it.

-Roach


Does the same apply to a tablet? I understand ROM = OS, and switching ROMs is like going from XP to Linux?

How would I find the best/right ROM for the tablet? What is the safest way to install it?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:40 pm 
Offline
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:57 am
Posts: 20868
Location: 07438
Smart phones, tablets and "pads" are usually locked to a specific OS type. To change to another version, a process called "jail breaking" is done. But it can void a warranty entirely.
Android and Linux are the most popular OS types.
Some more searching turned up blogs about "hacking" the OS with a different version.. but a 50/50 chance you may have a fancy paperweight.
Maybe best to get a newer model, wipe the old one (take out personal info), and put up for bids?

_________________
[email protected] to solve mankind's maladies.. in our lifetimes!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 11:31 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Karlsweldt wrote:
Smart phones, tablets and "pads" are usually locked to a specific OS type. To change to another version, a process called "jail breaking" is done. But it can void a warranty entirely.
Android and Linux are the most popular OS types.
Some more searching turned up blogs about "hacking" the OS with a different version.. but a 50/50 chance you may have a fancy paperweight.
Maybe best to get a newer model, wipe the old one (take out personal info), and put up for bids?


That's what I was hoping to avoid. This tablet is mainly used for quick web searches for various stuff. I just liked the idea of having a few other things I could do with it.

I guess I'll just let this go for now. :( I'm happy that, this thing does what it does.


Thx, anyway. Maybe down the road I will get a better one.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 1:00 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Before you put it on a shelf, I forgot to mention,on my Nook I installed the ROM to an SD card and booted to that. If you have an SD card slot, might be worth a try. Less chance of bricking it.

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:24 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Capital District Area, NY
Mark H wrote:
Before you put it on a shelf, I forgot to mention,on my Nook I installed the ROM to an SD card and booted to that. If you have an SD card slot, might be worth a try. Less chance of bricking it.



:? Do mean I would be booting the the tablet off the SD Card? Sorta like booting Linux using a Live CD/DVD?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2015 2:37 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Posts: 1911
Location: Reading the forums, where else?
Exactly

_________________
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2015 4:12 pm 
Offline
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2001 12:01 am
Posts: 2355
Location: Capital District Area, NY
OK, this is what I'm Leary about.

I start/power on the tablet, then I go to ''Download App Stores''.

Next I select my browser and open it.
The I select what App Store I want to download.

Ex. Amazon App Store or SlideME

It begins to download, after it finishes I try to install it.
First it tells me, I need to ''Allow install Apps'' in the security settings [√]. I check the box. Then I get the following:

Do you want to install?
It will get access to Send SMS messages.
Read phone status/identify approximate location (network based)
-modify or delete contents of your SD card
-add or remove accounts, create accounts, set passwords, find accounts on the device, use accounts on device.
-full network access, view network connections, view WiFi, control vibrations, test access, etc

What the heck does all that mean?

I want the tablet to be secure, but I want to be able to use some Apps.

What do I need to do?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group