The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Aug 04, 2020 5:08 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:23 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 2:41 am
Posts: 756
Location: USA
Hi guys.
I have Compaq Presario CQ5300F PC with ASUS M2N68-LA board (AM2 board) in with Windows 7 Premium. So i decided to re install OS by W 7 PRO.
Everything went OK but when i tested for sound find just DUMMY speakers.
Changed speakers by another ones, tested by Earphones-NOTHING.
Re installed sound driver by original Compaq one-NOTHING. Then installed drivers from ASUS site but i have "0" results.
I see sound waves are moving while playing something.
Device Manager shows Sound Card drivers W/O problems.
On PC is installed HP advisory for support and test went OK, didn't find any problems with sound.
Installed Driver Magician for additional drivers, installed all MB and chipset drivers also, still nothing.

Any recommendations?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:34 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
You won't find anything on the Asus site, since this board is an OEM board not a retail board..

So all you did is install a new version of the OS? All the speaker wires remained connected? by the sounds of it the speakers are hooked up wrong.

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:40 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
There are several incarnations of that board, that have different specs based off of BIOS, and features (like RAM slots), so the exact details might differ from your board...

but the manual that I have available, at least the one I know of off hand:
http://ctechinfo.net/documentation/manu ... manual.pdf

And although the manual says Asus, the board is produced by Pegatron which at one point was the OEM leg of Asus, but has since been split off to its own company..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Last edited by Toby B. on Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:45 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 2:41 am
Posts: 756
Location: USA
Thanks for reply.
How speakers could be hooked wrongly if it has just 3 ports and i tried all of them, Earphones also front-back.
Do you think board is dead and that's why?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:57 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
GEORGIAN wrote:
Thanks for reply.
How speakers could be hooked wrongly if it has just 3 ports and i tried all of them, Earphones also front-back.
Do you think board is dead and that's why?


Very carefully, have done it myself. If not paying close attention.. At least that's what it sounds like at the monent..

You said you installed Win7 Pro?? Did you format the hard drive and install the new OS? Might be worth while to do a restore to the original OS, see if the sound works again, then "Upgrade" versus full install..

If the OS/Device Manager is showing no problems.. Then I would have to assume there is a connection problem or the speakers are fubar'ed..

Drawing a blank on what sound chip is offered on the board, so it would be difficult at this time to track down a driver for it..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 5:59 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
And another thing I just thought of... IIRC that board is subject to bad caps, that may or may not be the culprit as well..

www.badcaps.net

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:02 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 2:41 am
Posts: 756
Location: USA
I re installed OS by Original Compaq System by image file and no results, also installed new Windows 8 OS but nothing.
Only thing i upgraded was some RAM and PSU.
PSU could cause CAP damage? They look OK, not first time builder.
Do you recommend to remove MOB from case and try like that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:19 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
not to my knowledge (on the PSU, causing bad caps.).. But certain brands of PSU's used in Compaq/HP systems have been susceptible to bad caps..

bad caps is really the same as any other faulty mass produced item.. at one point the computer industry was primarily using one cap supplier and there was a really bad string of batches produced..

At this point I am grasping at straws. Been up since 4AM (UTC-5)..

My strength is ID'ing the boards, not so much diagnosing them anymore..

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:26 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2004 2:41 am
Posts: 756
Location: USA
Thanks man, PSU is NON Compaq one, so i guess if out of case will have negative results only choice will be buy new board for it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 6:33 pm 
Offline
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Posts: 14303
Location: Maine
GEORGIAN wrote:
Thanks man, PSU is NON Compaq one, so i guess if out of case will have negative results only choice will be buy new board for it.


No there should be no ill effects from trying it outside the case..

just for curiosity sake, whats the make/model of PSU??

_________________
Compaq-Fu Master
Ctechinfo funding drive information


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group