The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Sat Jul 11, 2020 6:51 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:55 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:34 am
Posts: 18
Hi,
My Gear:
Intel i7 2700k,
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3,
ADS Pyro Firewire Card - 3 Ports (TI Chipset) on the PCI Slot, (Using to connect m-audio profire 2626)
Win 7 Ultimate 64-Bit,
UPS : APC BackUPS Pro 1000

My problem is that my audio interface loses connection with the computer when the ups switches to battery power(backup mode) ""In the middle of work"". when this occurs, a dialog box appears saying to select a valid audio interface because the one already in selection does not exist. I switched off the Profire 2626 and switched it on again. There is an led on the unit that keeps blinking when no connection via firewire is made and remains lit when firewire connection is made. So, when I switch the Profire back on, the led stops blinking and remains lit. Then when I tried to select the audio interface from the drop down in my DAw.. BOOM!!!! BSOD!!! and the system reboots

I tried it one more time, and this time the BSOD appeared when I switched the profire back on. The error message that came up on the BSOD was Something like "IRQ not less than....." and then something more. Couldn't read the rest. Though this losing connection was sort of common ( at least 50% of the time when the ups went to backup power, the BSOD is the first time now.

Since it was referring to IRQ I tried moving the card to the other available slot on the motherboard. This only changed it from IRQ 19 to IRQ 18. Both these IRQ's are shared with either 2 or 3 other things.

This particular board's PCI slots work by a bridge as I came to know only after I started working. Could this be the source of the problem? Or is it an IRQ problem?

It would be great if you guys can help


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 2:43 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17187
Location: England
In 'Device Manager', look for the firewire card and enter its properties, look at the power properties and post the results, this is mine:

Current power state:
D0

Power capabilities:
0000007F
PDCAP_D0_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_D1_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_D2_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_D3_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_WAKE_FROM_D0_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_WAKE_FROM_D1_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_WAKE_FROM_D2_SUPPORTED

Power state mappings:
S0 -> D0
S1 -> D1
S2 -> Unspecified
S3 -> D3
S4 -> D3
S5 -> D3

This will give the power state for the card. Also look at the settings of the UPS. Is it connected to the PC to send a shutdown signal. If so, the firewire card may get a signal to switch off to save power. It may send the same signal to 1x and 2x PCI-e slots and any PCI slots, reason being to enable a safe shutdown of the system to preserve hard drive data.
The Firewire is used because it is a constant data stream, good for audio and video. USB is designed to buffer and send, so it is like data pulses, which means less chance of data loss if there is an interrupt. Back to firewire, if the card is switched off due to the UPS kicking in, you will obviousley lose audio. Check the Prifire 2626 is connected to the UPS in the battery back up side. Check the PC power settings for the UPS, usually found in the power section of Control Panel, I don't use a UPS, but there is usually a section for a UPS if you have one attached via USB or COM port and that has aprt for enabling which devices to keep alive in the order of a power interrupt. Do you get regular power outages?

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 7:09 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:34 am
Posts: 18
Hi Mr T,

"Is it connected to the PC to send a shutdown signal."

I don't think I've set any such settings. The ups is not connected to the pc via usb.

"Check the Prifire 2626 is connected to the UPS in the battery back up side."

Yes, both the pc and the profire are plugged into one extension box coming from the ups.

"Check the PC power settings for the UPS, usually found in the power section of Control Panel"

It's set to high performance.

"Do you get regular power outages?"

At this point - no. Only unexpected short ones, once in a while.

I shall post the Firewire card properties after getting home.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:00 am 
Offline
Black Belt 3rd Degree
Black Belt 3rd Degree
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2003 2:12 am
Posts: 3677
Location: Washington D.C.
knowing the last two digits on the first set of numbers in the string on the bsod would be helpful, and if there is any driver association too... turn off reboot at bsod.
http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows7/ ... dows-7.htm

_________________
my main rig...
asrock 970 extreme3
AMD FX-6300 Vishera CPU
zalman cpns5x performa hs/fan
crucial ballistix 2x4gb sport ddr3-1333
powercolor ax7750 1GBK3-H vga
antec neo he 650r
Samsung 840 EVo SSD 120 GB
toshiba 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
seagate 1TB HDD 64M cache sata3
hitachi 2TB HDD 64M cache sata3
lg wh14ns40 bd burner
optiarc ad-7240s sata dvdrw (nec chipset)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 7:41 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:34 am
Posts: 18
Mr T,
My firewire card properties

Current power state:
D0

Power capabilities:
0000007F
PDCAP_D0_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_D1_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_D2_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_D3_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_WAKE_FROM_D0_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_WAKE_FROM_D1_SUPPORTED
PDCAP_WAKE_FROM_D2_SUPPORTED

Power state mappings:
S0 -> D0
S1 -> D3
S2 -> Unspecified
S3 -> D3
S4 -> D3
S5 -> D3


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:30 am 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17187
Location: England
Looks identical to mine (onboard) so should be OK... Try disabling 'EPU Power Saving Mode' in the BIOS, as you are not using the onboard FW port, why not disable it, or alternatively have you tried using it over the PCI card?

_________________
I have been programming on computers since the ZX81.
I am an apprentice trained Electronics Engineer with qualifications to back it up.
I have been repairing computers since 1996.
Yet to some people I still know nothing...


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 12:50 pm 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:34 am
Posts: 18
I'm not using the onboard firewire port, and yes it is disabled in the bios. I'll check the EPU mode.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group