Wiring and no post

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Wiring and no post

Postby Source_ERROR » Wed Nov 13, 2002 11:51 pm

In the ECS K7s5A manual it says the Power sw wire goes on pins 1 and 3.
Doesnt work for me. It does however turn on if it's on pins 5 and 6. weird.
But when i turn the dang thing on the monitor light turns green then orange then green again and back orange, over and over. (with no display) The video card is good, i just tried it on another puter.
Does anyone have any ideas? Any help is appreciated. Thank You.

Source_ERROR :?
Source_ERROR
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 11:40 pm
Location: Mississippi

Postby Tolemac » Thu Nov 14, 2002 1:25 am

Welcome to the Mother Board!

Are you getting the single beep when the unit turns on? Hate to say it, but that mobo has been nothing but problems for most people. Make sure that all of your connections are good and that the video card and ram are seated all the way in. 8)
Tolemac
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14276
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2000 12:01 am
Location: L-1 Bridge

Postby Teddy1 » Thu Nov 14, 2002 1:48 am

Wasn't there something at Newegg about the manual being wrong for that motherboard? There was a link to downloaded corrected version.

Check and recheck the Ram seating and the video card, it doesn't take much to knock it out enough to cause problems.

I took the CD-rom out of my system to put a DVD-rom in it's place. I didn't think I even touched the ram or video card. But sure enough when I turned my computer back on I had done something to displace the video card. Then after adjusting video card the RAM was goofy. Took RAM module out and reseated and all is well with the world again. :)
Teddy1

Abit IC7
Pentium 4 2.4MHz 800 fsb
512 mg Corsair DDR 3200 Twin XMS
80 gig Samsung regular IDE
Asus 4200 8X 128MB
Soundblaster Audigy Gamer
Lite-on DVD
Lite-on CD/RW 52x24x52
Viewsonic E70f
Teddy1
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 1:49 pm

Postby Source_ERROR » Thu Nov 14, 2002 9:33 am

thanx guys, i'll mess with it some more.
Source_ERROR
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 11:40 pm
Location: Mississippi

Postby evasive » Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:14 am

Use the pinout as stated on the board itself near the connectors, the manual is goofed up. HWJ had a posting about this in the Tech Forum but that one was lost during one of the less-than-welcome visit of some Brazilian kiddies...
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Postby Johnny Mnemonic » Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:40 am

I'd bet money Evasive is right.
0100101001001101
Image
Johnny Mnemonic
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1903
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2001 1:01 am
Location: McKinney, Tx

Postby Wookie8662 » Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:57 am

Evasive is correct.
Ignore the wiring diagrams in the manual. follow the Pinouts that are printed on the motherboard itself.
You should be up and running after that.
Wookie8662
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Downey, CA

Postby Source_ERROR » Thu Nov 14, 2002 8:50 pm

thanx
Source_ERROR
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2002 11:40 pm
Location: Mississippi


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests