K7S5A WON'T POST AFTER SWITCHING TO NEW CASE

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

K7S5A WON'T POST AFTER SWITCHING TO NEW CASE

Postby bmcoastie_1 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 8:31 pm

Hey all, I just bought a new case. Switched everything over. Checked and double checked all connections and fired it up. All fans run, HDD led is constantly lit but HD does nothing. No beeps, No video.

I am seriously bummed :cry: ! I was so excited about this new case. I hid all wires, cleaned all my fans and now I get this knockout punch to the jaw. I have spent all night trying different stuff.

I tried a bare minimum start-up with the same results. I never removed the CPU either. I tried switching around sticks of ram. Tried clearing cmos.

What else could I possibly try? I have sent a trouble call to ECS, God only knows how long that will take. Warranty still good to FEB.

Thanks in advance all,
AMD 2800+ Barton @ 190x12.5 W/SLK900A / Soltek SL-75FRN2 Ultra 400 MOBO, 1GIG BLACK DIAMOND PC3200, WD 7200rpm 80 GIG HD, 9800np, AUDIGY2 , ENERMAX 350WATT P/S, 52X CDROM,SAMSUNG 48X24X48 CDRW, MSFFB2 JOYSTICK, KLIPSCH PROMEDIA 2.1.
bmcoastie_1
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 1:01 am

Postby Johnny Mnemonic » Wed Nov 13, 2002 9:20 pm

Well assuming there is no short from the new case touching the motherboard anywhere near a non-mounting hole, it would have to be wiring somewhere that is going haywire. Could be a connector that is not fully engaged, or maybe striped and grounding on the chassis. No beeps, no video with fans running could point to a faulty video card. I know, I destroyed my Radeon 8500 this week by flashing it with an aparantly a faulty bios.
0100101001001101
Image
Johnny Mnemonic
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1903
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2001 1:01 am
Location: McKinney, Tx

Postby bmcoastie_1 » Thu Nov 14, 2002 2:54 am

Thanks for the reply Johnny. I really dont think its the video card. I am very sorry to hear about yours man. I know you did a good bit of research before you bought that thing. If it is grounding out somewhere, I have no idea where. One thing I havent tried is switching cables. I will try switching my IDE cables today after work and see what happens.
I hate to say this but I think I may have cracked it while putting on the main power harness. That thing is really stiff. I took the board off and inspected it closely. I can't see any cracks or chips. But when I put the slight pressure on it i hear a creaking or cracking sound. By the way, Would a bad video card really cause No beeps?
AMD 2800+ Barton @ 190x12.5 W/SLK900A / Soltek SL-75FRN2 Ultra 400 MOBO, 1GIG BLACK DIAMOND PC3200, WD 7200rpm 80 GIG HD, 9800np, AUDIGY2 , ENERMAX 350WATT P/S, 52X CDROM,SAMSUNG 48X24X48 CDRW, MSFFB2 JOYSTICK, KLIPSCH PROMEDIA 2.1.
bmcoastie_1
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 1:01 am

Postby MoboCop » Thu Nov 14, 2002 3:31 am

not sure on the beeps. First thing I would try is running the basic setup outside the case to see if it will post.

Use the motherboard box to set the board on. If it boots and works then try installing to case again, it might have been screwed in too tight...

Anyway something to try. If it will not boot while outside case then someone else will have to take you step by step. That is beyond me.

Hope this helps.
Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted - Albert Einstien
MoboCop
Drunken Master
 
Posts: 8854
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Fresno

Postby Noggin » Thu Nov 14, 2002 9:19 am

I had a K7S5A that for some reason took an occasional BIOS clear to boot up. Try using the jumper to clear the bios and see if it boots for you.

I replaced mine with a MSI KT3 Ultra2. Just wish it had onboard NIC.
A rectangular bear is just a polar bear after a coordinate transform. - I dunno who
Noggin
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:26 am

Postby yoojie » Thu Nov 14, 2002 9:26 am

Noggin that AVTAR is frightening!!!!! 8O 8O 8O
_______________________________________

**A wise man once said "Man who goes to sleep with itchy butt.... wake up with smelly finger."
yoojie
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 11:28 am
Location: Chicago IL

Postby JohnCD » Thu Nov 14, 2002 10:12 am

That's him on a good day...check him out on a bad day! ;-)

John D.
________
Avandia recall
Last edited by JohnCD on Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JohnCD
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Postby Toby B. » Thu Nov 14, 2002 10:25 am

yoojie and JohnCD, even as freaky as Noggin's avatar is. please keep on the subject at hand. This tread is in the tech support forum not the water cooler... If you want to make a comment on asn avatar please post in the water cooler or general forums.

Toby
Toby B.
Lead Mobo-fu Master
Lead Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 14277
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2001 1:01 am
Location: Maine

Postby JohnCD » Thu Nov 14, 2002 10:26 am

No, I don't want to make a comment on an avatar. Thanks anyway.

JOhn D.
________
Think Mill
Last edited by JohnCD on Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JohnCD
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Postby evasive » Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:15 am

LEd constant lit, no HD reaction = data cable connected backwards.
We hate rut, but we fear change.
********************************
System error, strike any user to continue...
evasive
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 37389
Joined: Sun May 06, 2001 12:01 am
Location: Netherlands

Next

Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests