micron pc sudden freeze up

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

micron pc sudden freeze up

Postby uniquemale69 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 11:41 am

CPU = amd athalon 1ghz socket A
RAM = 512 pc100/133 168 pin dimm
HEATSINK = unknown type --given to me was told it was for a 1 ghx socket A
OS = win xp pro
POWER SUPPLY = pro-v 300 w
VIDEO CARD = AOpen pa 3000 32 meg
SOUND CARD = on board
CASE = genaric
OEM SYSTEM = (home built trying to stabelize

this system will run for a while then all of the sudden freeze up for no apparen reason .
I am running via hardware monitoring software on it and the cpu runns from 29-33 untill it freezes up then it jumps to around 44

i have tried diffrent ram a new video card and also put in a slot fan just under the video heat sink

any ideas would greatly help im perplexed........


i also would like some help with id the board this is the bios string:

10/02/2000-8363-686A-6A6LMG59C-00
uniquemale69
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 4:24 pm
Location: LAWRENCE,KANSAS-USA

Postby yoojie » Wed Nov 13, 2002 12:03 pm

Is there anything running on the PC software wise when this happens?

Also is that 1 stick of RAM or 2? If its 2 try to pull one for a few days and see if it is the memory....

Also you said your FAN is unknown. Might want to see if it is a heat issue.
_______________________________________

**A wise man once said "Man who goes to sleep with itchy butt.... wake up with smelly finger."
yoojie
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 11:28 am
Location: Chicago IL

Postby uniquemale69 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 12:22 pm

thre are 2 256 meg sticks of ram

and they both test fine with RAM TEST
uniquemale69
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 4:24 pm
Location: LAWRENCE,KANSAS-USA

Postby yoojie » Wed Nov 13, 2002 12:35 pm

check all your cables...... I had a fan that the pins were loose that caused a similar issue on an older duron 800.

Also are the 2 sticks of RAM identical? Did you have it with 512 when it first worked?
_______________________________________

**A wise man once said "Man who goes to sleep with itchy butt.... wake up with smelly finger."
yoojie
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 11:28 am
Location: Chicago IL

Postby uniquemale69 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 1:00 pm

done all the checks of the wiers and tried the ram one by one same results
uniquemale69
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 4:24 pm
Location: LAWRENCE,KANSAS-USA

Postby chulo_d » Wed Nov 13, 2002 2:12 pm

What are you doing when it freezes. Can you leave it at the desktop with nothing running and it freezes?
What are you running your ram bus at? 100 or 133. If at 133 try running it at 100mhz.
Do you have anything in your bios enabled like video bios shadowing, agp fastwrite etc.
If so try disabling it.
If it aint broke, fix it till it is
chulo_d
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 552
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 8:20 am

Postby uniquemale69 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 3:32 pm

No at an idel it stays up. But if you do any thing with it that takes more than a cople of secs, it will freeze, but not at first it must be running for a few munites before it will happen. The best way i have reproduced it was to have media player loop a song and after a while (I'll have to try to time it to see if it is the same but I dont think so) it will freeze and the cpu temps will jump. even if you are searching it will freeze



OH YEA SOMETHING I OMMITED FROM MY ORIGINAL POST I AM RUNNING WIN 98SE AND XP FROM THE SAME HARDDRIVE PARTITION.
uniquemale69
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 4:24 pm
Location: LAWRENCE,KANSAS-USA


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests