ECS K7S5A Problems!

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

ECS K7S5A Problems!

Postby netdevil85 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 5:23 am

I have just upgraded my system. Added a new motherboard (ECS K75SA) and an AMD Duron 1.3ghz. I now have the following problems...

1 - Windows XP Pro will note install - I keep on getting a file copy error message.

2 - Sometime my motherboard does not detect my DVD and CD-RW drives at boot up.

Here is my spec...

AMD Duron 1.3ghz
ECS K75SA Motherboard
10gb HDD - IDE
100mb ZIP - IDE
16x 48x DVD - IDE
8x 4x 32x CD-RW
512mb PC133 ram
SB Audigy Platinum - PCI
ATI Radeon VE 32mb DDR
56k modem - PCI
10/100mb Netgear NIC


Any ideas?

Thanks,

Alex Clarke.
netdevil85
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 3:25 am

related??

Postby forests » Wed Nov 13, 2002 6:00 am

Did you try out the latest Bios from the ecs website. that should help solve the dvd and cd-rw problem. while the windows xp problem could be related to teh disappearing dvd or cd-rw, xp problem may be a corrupted windows xp cd itself. you did not mention the psu.
forests
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:53 am
Location: asia

Postby yoojie » Wed Nov 13, 2002 6:13 am

Do you have the correct jumper settings on the CD roms? Try using just cable select on both. Or the reverse if you are having probs now.

Also make sure you have a VALID copy of the OS. Seen that copy thing on a bad copy of the CD.
_______________________________________

**A wise man once said "Man who goes to sleep with itchy butt.... wake up with smelly finger."
yoojie
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 11:28 am
Location: Chicago IL

Postby Johnny Mnemonic » Wed Nov 13, 2002 7:44 am

Sounds like the IDE cable on your CD-ROM is going south, or not connected securely.
0100101001001101
Image
Johnny Mnemonic
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1903
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2001 1:01 am
Location: McKinney, Tx

Postby netdevil85 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 8:16 am

Ok. This will really begin to puzzle you...

When I said that the motherboard sometimes does not detect my DVD and CD-RW drives I meant this...


Sometimes I will turn my PC on and it will find the following IDE stuff...

HDD
ZIP
DVD
CD-RW

...Or it will only find this...

HDD
ZIP

It will then proceed to load Windows 98SE without my DVD or CD-RW drives!
netdevil85
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 3:25 am

Postby yoojie » Wed Nov 13, 2002 8:24 am

Could be the cables or the drives.....

Pull 1 drive out and see if everything loads.
_______________________________________

**A wise man once said "Man who goes to sleep with itchy butt.... wake up with smelly finger."
yoojie
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 484
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2002 11:28 am
Location: Chicago IL

Postby Mr T » Wed Nov 13, 2002 9:01 am

Do a minimal boot to get XP on, check your IDE cables are in tight (minimal boot = m'board, cpu =hsf, 1 stick of ram, 1hdd, 1cdrom, 1 video card and floppy).
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17085
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Re: ECS K7S5A Problems!

Postby Southwind25 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 10:17 am

netdevil85 wrote:I have just upgraded my system. Added a new motherboard (ECS K75SA) and an AMD Duron 1.3ghz. I now have the following problems...

1 - Windows XP Pro will note install - I keep on getting a file copy error message.

2 - Sometime my motherboard does not detect my DVD and CD-RW drives at boot up.

Here is my spec...

AMD Duron 1.3ghz
ECS K75SA Motherboard
10gb HDD - IDE
100mb ZIP - IDE
16x 48x DVD - IDE
8x 4x 32x CD-RW
512mb PC133 ram
SB Audigy Platinum - PCI
ATI Radeon VE 32mb DDR
56k modem - PCI
10/100mb Netgear NIC


Any ideas?

Thanks,

Alex Clarke.

I've had some problems with Netgear lan cards being compatible with some hardware. You shouldn't need it because the ECS board has onboard lan.

Southwind25
Black Belt 5th Degree
Black Belt 5th Degree
 
Posts: 7339
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2002 9:56 am
Location: Kansas

Postby netdevil85 » Wed Nov 13, 2002 2:13 pm

My motherboard is the version without the onboard LAN. Anyway... I have tried removing the card and doing a minimal boot, but I still get the same problem!!
netdevil85
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2002 3:25 am

Postby Noggin » Thu Nov 14, 2002 9:22 am

I had MASSIVE problems running XP on my K7S5A, it HATED my IDE controller and gave me all kinds of errors. If I upgraded from win9x it would work fine... until it did that "checking hard drive for errors" then it would give me some type of blue screen error.

If I tried doing a clean install, I'd get the blue screen error as soon as I selected a partition.

I flashed the BIOS and it began working. But it required me to use the jumper to clear the bios about half the time I booted. I replaced that ECS board with a MSI one. Only thing I miss is the onboard NIC.
A rectangular bear is just a polar bear after a coordinate transform. - I dunno who
Noggin
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2002 10:26 am


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron