2 Hard Drives, 3 Partitions, 2 OS, and want to add a 3rd OS

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

2 Hard Drives, 3 Partitions, 2 OS, and want to add a 3rd OS

Postby Mark H » Tue Nov 12, 2002 7:36 pm

Here is what I have:
WD 40G split in 2 partitions C:Win98SE; E: WinXP Pro (about equally split)
Seagate 6.8G D: (used as data storage)
E: and F: are cd r/w and cd-rom drives
G: is a network drive
I wish to repartition the 6.8 to accomodate Linux. i will need to create 2 new partitions on this drive.
My question is: will the new drive letters be H and I? Or will all my drive letters after D change?
I will be using Partition Magic 7.0
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby EvLwMn » Tue Nov 12, 2002 8:09 pm

Most likely when you repartition D, that drive will become D and E and the cdrw/cdrom will become F and G etc. They will all move down a letter after D.
"You can't go to Windows Update and get a patch for stupidity." - Kevin Mitnick
EvLwMn
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:34 am
Location: The Linux Lounge

Postby Grime » Tue Nov 12, 2002 8:46 pm

anybody see the recent Maximum PC issue that had in the very back of it an article about a guy that had 6 hard drives and something like 37 OS's loaded on them that all ran correctly? Here is the link to the article (not to mention it is the first topic listed on the maximum PC homepage).

http://www.maximumpc.com/features/featu ... 09-24.html
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler
Grime
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Port Aransas, Tx

Postby Mark H » Tue Nov 12, 2002 9:33 pm

Kinda what I was afraid of. I'm concerned because all my desktop shortcuts on XP point to E.

Since the D drive is nothing more than storage (file backup), perhaps I could just change it's drive letter, and let one of the CD's become D?
Currently, nothing is linked to drive D

Yes, i did see that article, and no, I'm not trying the same thing (lol)
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Grime » Tue Nov 12, 2002 9:43 pm

I didn't think you were, but I just thought it was kind of cool and along the same topic lines. As far as your shortcuts are concerned, it has been my experience that windows changes them all for you, unless they are all home-made shortcuts, and then I can't say I have that much experience, but it's worth a shot.
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler
Grime
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Location: Port Aransas, Tx

Postby Mark H » Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:03 pm

Well, went ahead and created 2 linux partitions. All went ok, but I won't know what, if anything, will happen when i make them active.
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby Mr T » Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:39 pm

If you create the linux partitions windows will not see them and your drive letters should remain unaltered.
Mr T
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master
 
Posts: 17087
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Location: England

Postby Mark H » Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:42 pm

That's what I was hoping to see.......

Thanks for all the help!
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?

Postby EvLwMn » Wed Nov 13, 2002 5:44 am

Yeah - Mr T is right. They will only be different in Linux (hda, hdb, etc.) But if you changed them using Partition magic in Windows they would temporarily be changed until the Linux partitions were formatted with reiserfs, ext2, etc.
"You can't go to Windows Update and get a patch for stupidity." - Kevin Mitnick
EvLwMn
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:34 am
Location: The Linux Lounge

Postby Mark H » Wed Nov 13, 2002 8:03 pm

Success!!

Installed Mandrake 9.0 with no problems other than now having 2 bootloaders. System boots to Mandrake first, and if I want to go to either Windows, I have the Windows bootloader to deal with. Minor problem, unless my wife causes system to reboot! Have to teach her what to do!!

BTW, no drive letters changed. And I used Partition Magic from within windows to create the Linux partitions.

Thanks to all for the input.

Now, to figure out how to get online.........AOL
I have a photographic memory, only problem is, I ran out of film.
Mark H
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1911
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2000 1:01 am
Location: Reading the forums, where else?


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests