watching DivX on my TV

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

watching DivX on my TV

Postby ether.real » Mon Nov 11, 2002 2:23 pm

hey was wondering if anyone could tell me what is going on....I have run RCA cable from my video card to my TV, however, on some of the files, I can run them on my monitor, but they are blank on the TV. Other files run fine on the TV. I can still hear the sound, though when it is on the TV it is choppy....here is my pertinent info:
P4 1.5Ghz
GeForce2 Ti with RCA and S Video out
40.72 NVidia drivers
XP Pro

thanks,
ether
ether.real
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 1:01 am

Postby wolverineman85 » Mon Nov 11, 2002 4:20 pm

do you have the correct codecs installed?
wolverineman85
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2002 8:04 pm
Location: Michigan

Postby hypnotik » Mon Nov 11, 2002 5:18 pm

Make sure you play it with a divX player too. Because divX is basically a hacked version of mpeg4, Microsoft have gone out of their way to ensure divX is unreliable in WMP (and because it is programmed by about a thousand different people, it isn't too stable for starters).
"I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it"

-Voltaire
hypnotik
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 9:07 pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Postby Hardware Junkie » Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:08 pm

SOmeone on the board had the same problem. Its because the version of Divx being used. Divx 5 does not contain Divx 3.11, only 4 and 5...

Install Divx 3.11 Alpha
Reinstall Divx 5.02

This should correct the problem...

http://www.divx-digest.com/software/divxcodec.html
"Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality." -Jules de Gautier

Image
Hardware Junkie
Mobo-fu Master
Mobo-fu Master
 
Posts: 19405
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2001 1:01 am
Location: 00000h - 0000Fh

Postby GillianTan » Tue Nov 12, 2002 12:19 am

Junkie I did that too and also have the same problem. Tons of other movie files play, just not Divx, and even using the Divx playa.

I heard it was a problem with video overlay and how Nvidia cards dont support it. Notice both he and I have a Nvidia card.
My NEW 3dMark score http://service.madonion.com/compare?2k1=4955820
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return...
GillianTan
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 648
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 1:12 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby ether.real » Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:52 am

How would the DivX codecs make them playble on my PC, but not on my TV? All the files play fine on the PC, but on certain files, they dont play on the TV when I "switch output device". I have Divx 5.02 codecs, I will have to try installing the 3.11's. I am a bit confused.....
ether.real
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 1:01 am


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests