Worht upgrade AMD 1Ghz Thunderbird to 1.3Ghz Duron??

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Worht upgrade AMD 1Ghz Thunderbird to 1.3Ghz Duron??

Postby banny » Mon Nov 11, 2002 7:56 am

Have a 1Ghz Thunderbird Athlon and 1Gb RAM - is it worth upgrading to 1.3 Ghz Duron (costs about £30) temporarily until I change my motherboard in about 4 months ? Will I notice the difference? I have other computers to reuse the 1Ghz and 1.3Ghz on so they won't be wasted.

Thanks
banny
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 4:06 am
Location: UK

Postby Valour » Mon Nov 11, 2002 8:03 am

Yes there will be a difference... not a huge one, but you'll know it when the processor is really being stressed.

Make sure the motherboards in question support a 200FSB.

-Jem
"The proverb says that Providence protects children and idiots. This is really true. I know because I have tested it." -Mark Twain

I wrote this book: www.herotale.com
And here's the next one: www.emeraldblackbird.com
Valour
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:24 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Postby slingo » Mon Nov 11, 2002 10:18 am

Have you considered unlocking your athlon and do you have adequate cooling for overclocking? Thats the route I would take. Unlocking the athlon is pretty simple. As long as you've got a steady hand, its just a matter of connecting the bridges with a graphite pencil. Take a peak on the web as there are numerous sites with in-depth instructions on how-to.
slingo
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 4:56 pm

Postby JohnCD » Mon Nov 11, 2002 12:51 pm

I must be missing something here: Why would someone want to "upgrade" from a 1GHz/266 T-Bird to a 1.3GHz/200 Duron? It doesn't make any sense.

I'd say no, you won't notice any difference and you'd be lucky to break even.

And going from 1000 to 1300 -- regardless of the CPU in question -- isn't significant...wait until you can go substantially higher and forget this "move."

John D.
________
MERCEDES-BENZ OM602 ENGINE SPECIFICATIONS
Last edited by JohnCD on Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JohnCD
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Postby Valour » Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:17 pm

JohnCD wrote:I must be missing something here: Why would someone want to "upgrade" from a 1GHz/266 T-Bird to a 1.3GHz/200 Duron? It doesn't make any sense.

I'd say no, you won't notice any difference and you'd be lucky to break even.

And going from 1000 to 1300 -- regardless of the CPU in question -- isn't significant...wait until you can go substantially higher and forget this "move."

John D.


Whoa... when did we establish that that 1Ghz Athlon was 266FSB? It could just as easily be a 200FSB. In that case there would be a slight advantage to the Duron.

-Jem
"The proverb says that Providence protects children and idiots. This is really true. I know because I have tested it." -Mark Twain

I wrote this book: www.herotale.com
And here's the next one: www.emeraldblackbird.com
Valour
Black Belt 2nd Degree
Black Belt 2nd Degree
 
Posts: 2893
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 6:24 pm
Location: Rochester, NY USA

Postby JohnCD » Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:18 pm

He didn't say it wasn't...not my fault for that.

But as I said, going from 1000 to 1300 is not significant, so it really doesn't matter anyway.

John D.
________
Kitchen Measures
Last edited by JohnCD on Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JohnCD
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Postby walwal » Mon Nov 11, 2002 1:58 pm

Just tried an Athlon 900 and a Duron 1300 and if anything the Athlon seems faster. I assume its something to do with the onboard L2 cache. If its a choice the low price of the Duron makes it the winner.
My understanding is that an Athlon 1400 at 266mhz was quick and noticeably so. As was said it depends on the load too. Ive just been told some technical drawings are on the way and working with them will really need an Athlon.
walwal
Brown Belt
Brown Belt
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2002 8:26 am

Postby banny » Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:24 am

Thanks guys - I'll geta new motherboard and an Athlon XP.
banny
Pilgrim
Pilgrim
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 4:06 am
Location: UK

Postby JohnCD » Tue Nov 12, 2002 5:38 am

You're welcome.

AMD mobos and XP CPUs are probably the best cost-vs-performance-ratio combinations presently available for the "cost conscious" buyer.

Enjoy,

John D.
________
IPAD ACCESSORIES
JohnCD
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: El Paso, TX


Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests