The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:01 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:35 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 8:52 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Diego, CA
Processor: AMD 2100+ XP
MoBo: Asus A7V333
RAM: 256mb PC2100
Case: Enermax Neon/Window CS305
Sound: Onboard
Video: NVIDIA
Power Supply: Enermax 350W (Came with case)
OEM: Home build
OS: Windows XP Pro
Other hardware: Western Digital 80GB HD, Creative CD-ROM, Sony CD-R/RW

So here's the problem...I had a ANTEC SL350 power supply crap out on me earlier in the week. I verified that it was the power supply with another unit. So i buy a new case (I was a bit sick of the old one) with packaged power. Ever since then Windows XP Pro has been restarting or shutting down randomly. As you can imagine this has pissed me off significantly :evil: . I just want to be able to run the system without it shutting down.

So here's my question...should I replace the power supply that came with the case? If so what power supply would you recommend. Also, is it possible in loosing the power that damage was done to other components?

Thanks for the help!
Bob


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:13 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 9:50 pm
Posts: 184
maybe your computer is rebooting because your cpu is heating up....you should try monitoring your cpu temp


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:23 am 
Offline
Pilgrim
Pilgrim

Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2002 8:52 pm
Posts: 7
Location: San Diego, CA
Temps have not gone above the threshold and are being monitored by ASUS Probe.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 7:16 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:34 am
Posts: 910
Location: The Linux Lounge
Yes - I've lost components due to bad PSUs and I've lost components due to a PSU that didn't supply enough power. Personally I like the Antec True Power series of PSUs and Enermax. Get at least a 400w this time to make sure you have enough power.

Good luck 8)

_________________
"You can't go to Windows Update and get a patch for stupidity." - Kevin Mitnick


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 8:17 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:27 pm
Posts: 568
Location: LA, CA
Definitely sounds like a PSU problem :( Gotta go above 400W


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 8:55 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Posts: 493
Location: Port Aransas, Tx
I have the same problem! Except first it was in Win98 SE, then I tried XP and still have the same problem. Mine reboots randomly, and freezes, but only if I set my CPU speed to 2533. It is a brand new P4 2.53Ghz, but I am forced to run it at 1900Mhz!! I'm pretty sure my PS is a Logic 460W, and brand new mobo (asus p4t33), video card, and ram (512mb samsung 1066Mhz RIMM4200). Could the problem really be my power supply? HELP?! :!:

_________________
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:11 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:34 am
Posts: 910
Location: The Linux Lounge
Yeah - PSUs, just like any component can be faulty right out of the box.

Oh and I said AT LEAST 400w. jsheinz is right - probably should go with more power with what you're running.

_________________
"You can't go to Windows Update and get a patch for stupidity." - Kevin Mitnick


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:19 pm 
Offline
Anti-Static Strap
Anti-Static Strap

Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2002 10:39 am
Posts: 493
Location: Port Aransas, Tx
This is really strange. I was messing around with my external clock settings (it was crashing on anything between 105-133) and just for kicks I set it to 136, and... WALLA! suddenly no more crashing! Not to mention my 2.53 is running at 2.58 now (gotta watch tha temp though).

_________________
Windows XP Professional w/SP2
Abit IC7-MAX3
P4 2.6Ghz 800Mhz FSB w/HT
1gb Mushkin Level II PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 XT
SB Audigy Gamer
2x WD Raptor 10k rpm SATA w/ RAID-0
Sony DRU530A DVD-RW+RW
Zalman CNPS 7000-cu CPU Cooler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:30 pm 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2002 6:34 am
Posts: 910
Location: The Linux Lounge
Cool - maybe you found the problem. But YES - definitely watch those temps!!

Good luck 8)

_________________
"You can't go to Windows Update and get a patch for stupidity." - Kevin Mitnick


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:37 pm 
Offline
Enlightened Master
Enlightened Master

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2002 1:03 am
Posts: 17134
Location: England
?If it was CPU temp, the system would shut down and not restart, (ASUS C.O.P.), what brand of RAM have you got, 'tis the usual culprit in the random reboot arena for this board!? You could also have a bad contact, I would reseat everything esp. RAM and your video card.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group