Disappearing Mouse

Get your PC tech problems solved here. Quick response time.

Moderator: The Mod Squad

Disappearing Mouse

Postby nld » Sun Nov 10, 2002 1:49 am

I have a problem with my daughters computer that I have been
toiling over for weeks. The mouse problem. The mouse icon was in middle of screen but wouldn't respond.
Tried all connections in and out nothing, changed mouse it worked put
computer back together mouse stopped working again.
Since then I've tried various mice, I've removed all the ports and mouse in
system devices they've reinstalled other than mouse which I had to install
manually. I tried this with a couple of different mice. Tried windows
trouble-shooter nothing. I've tried new straps between mouse and board and above combinations, nothing. I've tried swapping the straps to the opposite
com's port.On at least one occasion the mouse cursor moved to bottom of
screen but I don't know how. The one thing I had noticed I was using the
keyboard to move around and when control panel was open the cursor hit the open window about mid item and whilst scrolling if I hesitated for a few
seconds it would automatically jump to the item which was covered by the
cursor so something was communicating as I presumed the select if hovering was working.
If you have any ideas I'd appreciate them
Thanks
Nigel
nld
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm

Postby Happy Hillbilly » Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:48 am

Have you tried a USB mouse? You could have a bad PS2 or the 'pin-out' orientation could be different.
Luke 6:31
Happy Hillbilly
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree
 
Posts: 1942
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 8:30 pm
Location: Murphy,NC (Apopka,FL)

Postby marki » Sun Nov 10, 2002 8:30 am

sounds like this is a serial mouse, but hey! what do i know.
marki
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Blackpool,UK

Postby nld » Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:27 am

Yes it is a serial mouse. There's no USB facility or PS2 port. Although I tried a PS2 mouse via a serial adapter(I realise that makes it a serial mouse)
nld
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm

Postby feto » Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:25 am

well....you could always try getting a usb card and a usb mouse....chances are that will solve the problem
feto
Green Belt
Green Belt
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 9:50 pm

Postby nld » Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:48 am

Point taken
nld
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm

Postby JohnCD » Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:11 am

"Yes it is a serial mouse. There's no USB facility or PS2 port. Although I tried a PS2 mouse via a serial adapter(I realise that makes it a serial mouse)"

No, putting an adapter on a PS/2 mouse does NOT make it a serial mouse. They're two differnt animals...UNLESS it clearly states the mouse is a combo PS/2 and serial mouse. If it's PS/2 only, it won't work.

You need to get a known working serial mouse and put it on COM 1 or COM 2 (Serial 1 or 2) and then be sure those COM/Serial ports do not have anything else using them...like an internal modem on COM 1,2, 3, or 4 and/or anything using their associated IRQs.

If your OS supports it, get a USB card and then use a USB mouse. But I advise you to buy a PS/2 and USB "combo" mouse for flexibility rather than USB only.

Or, see if there is a PS/2 mouse pinout (header) on your mobo and get a PS/2 mouse cable/bracket...then you CAN use a PS/2 mouse (often less problematical than some USB only mice.

Good luck,

John D.
________
Box vaporizers
Last edited by JohnCD on Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JohnCD
Black Belt
Black Belt
 
Posts: 654
Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:42 pm
Location: El Paso, TX

Postby nld » Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:33 am

Can I get the PS header from another M/B or do I have to buy one. I've got an old board with PS mouse and keyboard and there is PS pinout. :oops:
nld
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm

Postby nld » Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:34 am

sorry pinout was meant to be followed by 'on my daughters M/B
Thanks
Nigel
Double :oops: :oops:
nld
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm

Postby marki » Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:40 am

If this old motherboard is AT Format and has a ps2 pin out. Chances are it will have the strap and ps2 bracket you need. However this is fruitless if your daughters motherboard does not have the pin header for the strap plug
marki
Initiate
Initiate
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Blackpool,UK

Next

Return to Tech Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron