The Mother Board

Motherboards.org forums. Free tech support, motherboard ID, and more.
It is currently Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:19 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Disappearing Mouse
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 1:49 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm
Posts: 28
I have a problem with my daughters computer that I have been
toiling over for weeks. The mouse problem. The mouse icon was in middle of screen but wouldn't respond.
Tried all connections in and out nothing, changed mouse it worked put
computer back together mouse stopped working again.
Since then I've tried various mice, I've removed all the ports and mouse in
system devices they've reinstalled other than mouse which I had to install
manually. I tried this with a couple of different mice. Tried windows
trouble-shooter nothing. I've tried new straps between mouse and board and above combinations, nothing. I've tried swapping the straps to the opposite
com's port.On at least one occasion the mouse cursor moved to bottom of
screen but I don't know how. The one thing I had noticed I was using the
keyboard to move around and when control panel was open the cursor hit the open window about mid item and whilst scrolling if I hesitated for a few
seconds it would automatically jump to the item which was covered by the
cursor so something was communicating as I presumed the select if hovering was working.
If you have any ideas I'd appreciate them
Thanks
Nigel

_________________
n_lewis_davidson@hotmail.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:48 am 
Offline
Black Belt 1st Degree
Black Belt 1st Degree

Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 8:30 pm
Posts: 1942
Location: Murphy,NC (Apopka,FL)
Have you tried a USB mouse? You could have a bad PS2 or the 'pin-out' orientation could be different.

_________________
Luke 6:31


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 8:30 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 60
Location: Blackpool,UK
sounds like this is a serial mouse, but hey! what do i know.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 9:27 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm
Posts: 28
Yes it is a serial mouse. There's no USB facility or PS2 port. Although I tried a PS2 mouse via a serial adapter(I realise that makes it a serial mouse)

_________________
n_lewis_davidson@hotmail.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:25 am 
Offline
Green Belt
Green Belt

Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2002 9:50 pm
Posts: 184
well....you could always try getting a usb card and a usb mouse....chances are that will solve the problem


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:48 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm
Posts: 28
Point taken

_________________
n_lewis_davidson@hotmail.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:11 am 
Offline
Black Belt
Black Belt

Joined: Mon Sep 02, 2002 6:42 pm
Posts: 654
Location: El Paso, TX
"Yes it is a serial mouse. There's no USB facility or PS2 port. Although I tried a PS2 mouse via a serial adapter(I realise that makes it a serial mouse)"

No, putting an adapter on a PS/2 mouse does NOT make it a serial mouse. They're two differnt animals...UNLESS it clearly states the mouse is a combo PS/2 and serial mouse. If it's PS/2 only, it won't work.

You need to get a known working serial mouse and put it on COM 1 or COM 2 (Serial 1 or 2) and then be sure those COM/Serial ports do not have anything else using them...like an internal modem on COM 1,2, 3, or 4 and/or anything using their associated IRQs.

If your OS supports it, get a USB card and then use a USB mouse. But I advise you to buy a PS/2 and USB "combo" mouse for flexibility rather than USB only.

Or, see if there is a PS/2 mouse pinout (header) on your mobo and get a PS/2 mouse cable/bracket...then you CAN use a PS/2 mouse (often less problematical than some USB only mice.

Good luck,

John D.
________
Box vaporizers


Last edited by JohnCD on Thu Mar 10, 2011 9:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:33 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm
Posts: 28
Can I get the PS header from another M/B or do I have to buy one. I've got an old board with PS mouse and keyboard and there is PS pinout. :oops:

_________________
n_lewis_davidson@hotmail.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:34 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2002 11:57 pm
Posts: 28
sorry pinout was meant to be followed by 'on my daughters M/B
Thanks
Nigel
Double :oops: :oops:

_________________
n_lewis_davidson@hotmail.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:40 am 
Offline
Initiate
Initiate

Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2001 12:00 am
Posts: 60
Location: Blackpool,UK
If this old motherboard is AT Format and has a ps2 pin out. Chances are it will have the strap and ps2 bracket you need. However this is fruitless if your daughters motherboard does not have the pin header for the strap plug


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group